Area players make All-Ohio Div. V VI

Published 12:00 am Friday, December 3, 2004

Now, that's some kind of team.

A total of 16 area players were named to the Associated Press All-Ohio football teams in Divisions V and VI Wednesday.

The Coal Grove Hornets return to winning landed junior running back Justin Hyland (5-10, 190) on the first team and senior defensive back Patrick Roush (6-1, 185) on the second team.

Email newsletter signup

Hornets junior lineman Nick Bazell (6-0, 240) was special mention All-Ohio.

Hyland, the district Offensive Player of the Year, ran for 2,028 yards on 275 carries and scored 23 touchdowns.

The Chesapeake Panthers led the way in Division V with five players name to the All-Ohio Special Mention list.

The quintet of Panthers honored include senior wide receiver Dustin O'Brien (6-1, 160), senior lineman Bryan Eldred (6-1, 205), senior defensive lineman Shane Williams (6-2, 250), senior defensive end Matt Whitmore (6-3, 195) and junior punter Jeff Thornburg (6-2, 155).

O'Brien (6-1, 160) caught 21 passes for 368 yards and eight TDs.

In Division VI, Symmes Valley senior linebacker Justin Holland (5-10, 180) and senior defensive back Craig Neal (5-9, 155) were first team selections while senior running back Cory Burcham was named to the second team.

Three other Vikings were named to the All-Ohio Special Mention list including senior end Derrek Cremeans (5-10, 170), senior tackle Jon Dillon (6-2, 230) and senior center Eli Bowling (5-9, 190).

Holland was the district Co-Defensive Player of the Year as he had 108 tackles, six caused fumbles, 15 tackles for loss and seven sacks.

Burcham ran for 651 yards and 10 TDs in the regular season.

Green landed senior defensive back C.J. Blevins (5-8, 160) and senior lineman Kyle Bailey (6-0, 260) on the Division VI All-Ohio special mention list.

Wheelersburg senior quarterback Tom Kaskey was named to the Division V second team.


The Associated Press

COLUMBUS - Kent Phillips of state-bound Amanda-Clearcreek and Sandusky St. Mary's Spencer Dye are among the top names on the 2004 Associated Press Division V and Division VI All-Ohio high school football teams announced Wednesday.

Phillips, a 5-foot-9, 185-pound senior linebacker and running back, was the defensive player of the year in Division V while Dye grabbed the offensive honors in Division VI based on the recommendations of a state media panel.

Joining Phillips as Division V honorees are West Liberty-Salem quarterback Lee Yoder and Warren Kennedy running back Anthony Elzy, who shared the offensive award, along with coaches of the year Scott Garlock of Findlay Liberty-Benton and Dwayne Hill of Chillicothe Zane Trace.

In Division VI, the defensive players of the year were linebackers Nick Harden of McComb and T.J. Mahl of Monroeville. Marion Catholic's Skip Davis, John Graher of Union City Mississinawa Valley, Howard Overman of New Bremen and Hicksville's Charlie Bostelman shared the coaching honors.

Phillips is the top rusher and top tackler for a top-ranked an unbeaten Amanda-Clearcreek team that meets St. Henry on Saturday afternoon for the Division V title.

Yoder passed for 1,700 yards and ran for 1,400 more for an unbeaten team, while Elzy piled up 2,338 yards and 30 touchdowns as a junior.

In his third year at Liberty-Benton, Garlock went from 6-4 to 8-3 and then the school's first 10-0 record ever, along with its first conference title since 1978. Zane Trace suffered through sub-.500 seasons the last two years before Hall led the way to a 9-1 mark and a spot in the playoffs.

Dye rushed for 1,586 yards and 29 touchdowns, added 322 receiving yards and four scores and also had four kickoff returns for touchdowns.

Harden and Mahl both posted big numbers from their linebacker spots while leading their teams.

Davis had only 22 players - Marion Catholic has only 28 boys enrolled - but still collected the school's first trip to the playoffs. Mississinawa was 4-86 before Graher took over two years ago, culminating in a 5-5 record and its first postseason visit. Bostelman led Hicksville to its second trip to the playoffs in as many years with Overman guiding New Bremen to its first winning season since 1997.