Panthers, Lady Pointers top All-OVC picks

Published 12:00 am Thursday, March 17, 2005

The champions are winners again.

The Chesapeake Panthers and South Point Lady Pointers won Ohio Valley Conference championships, and they also led the all-conference selections.

Chesapeake, 10-0 in the OVC, landed seniors Brennan Hall and Trent Finley and junior P.J. Rase on the first team while junior Justin Porter was honorable mention.

Email newsletter signup

Norm Persin was the Coach of the Year as he led the Panthers to a 10th straight league title.

Coal Grove juniors Randy Wise and Justin Hyland were on the first team and senior Jim Lemon honorable mention.

South Point landed junior J.T. Terry and sophomore Chase McWhorter on the first unit with junior Jeremiah Taylor honorable mention.

Fairland junior Josh Johnson and Rock Hill junior K.C. Christian were first team picks. Fairland senior Todd Maynard and Rock Hill freshman Mark DePriest were honorable mention.

River Valley had Stephen Harder and Colby Reese on the first team and Darren Clark honorable mention.

South Point, 10-0 in the league, had seniors Alisha Bridges and Latisha Koukos and junior Jessica Craft on the first unit. Junior Summer Malone was honorable mention.

The Lady Pointers Dave Adams was named the Coach of the Year.

Runner-up Chesapeake had Brittany Boyle and Noelle Wood on the first team and sophomore Sara Rucker honorable mention.

Also on the first team were senior Kara Riley and junior Brianna Davis of Fairland, sophomores Chelsea Markins and Samantha Hall of Coal Grove, junior Mandi McKenzie of Rock Hill, and Ashley Crawford of River Valley.

On the honorable mention list were Fairland sophomore Megan Auxier, Coal Grove junior Tracy Tackett, Rock Hill freshman Brooke Long and Kristina Naylor of River Valley.