RTR closes out racing season tonight

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, September 14, 2005

COAL GROVE - Because of heavy rains last Friday, the Rocky Top Raceway had to cancel the evening's races for the second time this month and the sixth time this season.

Despite Mother Nature, the season has been a success. The previous week, Aug. 19th, one of the best races in the history of the track occured as Kenny Christy and Eddie Carrier Jr. were side-by-side at the finish line with Christy winning by inches.

Late model feature winners this season include Christy, Josh McGuire, Dave Hackathorn, Jackie Boggs and Carrier. Modified feature winners include David McWilliams, Todd Robinson, Eddie Harmon and Tim Moore. Bomber feature winners are Jeremie Bretz, Conard Newman, Jim Lemaster, David Dunn and Brett Carey.

Email newsletter signup

Greg Sparks has won every 6 cyl/4 cyl race.

Racing will conclude Friday with be the season final with late models -$1,500 to win, modifieds - $650 to win, Bombers - $350 to win and a regular show for the 6 cyl/4 cyl division. More races may be added to the schedule.

Updates can be found on the Web at www.rockytopracewayinc.com. Hot Laps are scheduled to start at 7:30 p.m. today.