Junior Hornets finish season unbeaten, MSOVC champs

Published 12:00 am Friday, October 28, 2005

COAL GROVE - The Junior Hornets of Coal Grove are once again Middle School Ohio Valley Conference champions as they finished off the Rock Hill Junior Redmen 38-14 last Thursday.

The win gave the Hornets their 14th title and their first undefeated season since 1993.

Coal Grove scored early and often as they scored on five of their first seven possessions.

Email newsletter signup

Frank Delawder opened up the scoring with a 39-yard touchdown.

Wayne Sparks hit Delawder for the two-point conversion giving Coal Grove an 8-0 lead.

The Hornets would strike quickly on their next possession as Sparks connected with Aaron Dickess for a 9-yard touchdown pass. Jake Murphy ran in for the two-point conversion giving the Hornets a 16-0 lead at the end of the first quarter.

Delawder would put more points on the board before halftime with a 10-yard run. Dickess kicked the extra-point giving the Grove a 23-0 halftime lead.

Delawder would strike again on Coal Grove's first possession of the second half going in from 29 yards out.

Dickess again kicked the extra-point putting the Hornets up 30-0.

Coal Grove put one more score up on the board when Dickess went in from 28 yards out. Sparks hooked up with Josh Mulkey for the two-point conversion giving the Hornets a 38-0 lead late in the third quarter.

The benches were emptied and Rock Hill tacked on 14 fourth quarter points to set the final score.

Delawder led the Grove with 139 yards rushing on 10 carries and led the team in tackles with 10.

Oakie Haynes, Dickess, Mark Davidson and Justin Delawder had five tackles each. Sparks was three of six passing for a touchdown and two conversion attempts.

For the season the Hornets averaged 30 points a game. Frank Delawder, 886 yards, and Aaron Dickess, 701 yards, led the offense.

The defense was quite stingy giving up less than 10 points a game.

The first unit was not scored on in five of the seven games.

Rick Barrett, Mitch Crum, Brian Kidd and Layne Wireman coached the Hornets.