Vikings Carpenter heads All-SOC team selections

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, November 29, 2005

The Southern Ohio Conference couldn't stop Derek Carpenter on the field or off.

Although the Symmes Valley Vikings finished second in the SOC Division I race behind Lucasville Valley, Carpenter still reaped the rewards of a strong season as he was named Co-Back of the Year along with Arthur Henderson of East.

The 5-foot-9, 170-pound senior running back rushed for 1,142 yards on 148 carries and scored 15 touchdowns as the Vikings went 4-1 in the league and 7-4 on the season including a postseason playoff berth in Division VI.

Email newsletter signup

Besides Carpenter on the first team, the Vikings landed senior lineman Alex Burnett, senior linebacker Matt Owens, senior defensive back Seth Saunders and junior tight end Kyle Meadows.

On the second team for the Vikings were senior lineman Nathan Colegrove, junior end Kirt Shipley and sophomore quarterback Chris Capper.

The Green Bobcats landed senior linebacker Andy Avery, senior fullback Mark Castro - also a 1,000-yard rushier - and quarterback Derek Lewis on the first team.

Senior lineman Ryan Klaiber and senior wide receiver Dustin Williams were named to the second team.

Lucasville Valley's Kyle Arnold was the lineman of the year and Darren Crabtree was to top coach.

In Division II, league champion Wheelersburg landed eight players on the first team and three more on the second team.

Wheelersburg senior guard and linebacker James Conkey was the Lineman of the Year and the Pirates Tony Lewis was the Coach of the Year.

Southern Ohio Conference

2005 All-SOC Football

Division I

First Team

Kyle Arnold (Valley), Brandon Crabtree (Valley), Jared Hettinger (Valley), Travis Jones (Valley), Jared Montgomery (Valley), David Myers (Valley), Ryan Turner (Valley), Brock Williams (Valley), Alex Burnett (Symmes Valley), Derek Carpenter (Symmes Valley), Kyle Meadows (Symmes Valley), Matt Owens (Symmes Valley), Seth Saunders (Symmes Valley), Brent Downing (East), Arthur Henderson (East), J.R. Little (East), Brandon Williams (East), Andy Avery (Green), Mark Castro (Green), Derek Lewis (Green), Ben Haaf (Notre Dame), Kurt Harness (Notre Dame), Brad Davis (Oak Hill),

Division I

Second Team

Justin Bailey (Valley), Aaron Crabtree (Valley), Chuck Gregory (Valley), Chris Capper (Symmes Valley), Nathan Colegrove (Symmes Valley), Kirt Shipley (Symmes Valley), Paul Burchett (East), Dustin Morrison (East), Ryan Klaiber (Green), Dustin Williams (Green), Bob Herpy (Notre Dame), Nathan Evans (Oak Hill),

S.O.C. Division I Champions - Valley (5-0)

Co-Back of the Year - Arthur Henderson (East)

Co-Back of the Year - Derek Carpenter (Symmes Valley)

Lineman of the Year - Kyle Arnold (Valley)

Coach of the Year - Darren Crabtree (Valley)

SOC I Records:

Valley 5-0, Symmes Valley 4-1, East 3-2, Green 2-3, Notre Dame 1-4, Oak Hill 0-5.


Southern Ohio Conference

2005 All-SOC Football

Division I

First Team

Jared Campbell (Wheelersburg), Jordan Clark (Wheelersburg), James Conkey (Wheelersburg), Brandon Jackson (Wheelersburg), John Storey (Wheelersburg), Nick Warner (Wheelersburg), Jordan Wesney (Wheelersburg), Brandon White (Wheelersburg), Matt Auger (West), Sean Bower (West), Jerrod Pendleton (West), Kyle Ruggles (West), Mike Whitman (West), Korey Bryant (Waverly), Levi Cossey (Waverly), Andrew Guilky (Waverly), Trevor Walls (Waverly), Josh Cassidy (Northwest), Jeremy Fritz (Northwest), Tyler Mitchell (Northwest), Max Liles (Minford), Trent Reynolds (Minford)

Division I

Second Team

Jeep Apel (Wheelersburg), Bryant McQuithy (Wheelersburg), Alex Prater (Wheelersburg), Chaz Horsley (West), Austin Severs (West), Caleb Staggs (West), Brian Cutler (Waverly), Casey Osborne (Waverly), Michael Hughes (Northwest), Cody Penn (Northwest), Sean Childers (Minford)

S.O.C. Division II Champions - Wheelersburg (4-0)

Back of the Year - Jarrod Pendleton (West)

Lineman of the Year - James Conkey (Wheelersburg)

Coach of the Year - Tony Lewis (Wheelersburg)

SOC II Records:

Wheelersburg 4-0, Ports. West 3-1, Waverly 2-2, Northwest 1-3, Minford 0-4.