Boykin looks to make 3rd time the charm

Published 12:00 am Saturday, June 3, 2006

Can the third time be the charm?

Ironton junior sprinter Mandi Boykin is among the favorites in the 100- and 200-meter dashes in this weekend’s Ohio High School Athletic Association Division II state track and field meet.

Boykin was third in the 100 as a freshman and fifth last year.

Email newsletter signup

While times vary race-to-race, Boykin qualified for the state meet with a 12.35 time in the regional meet.

Jeanette Pettigrew of Cuyahoga Valley Christian Academy ran a 12.23 to enter the meet with the best qualifying time. Shavae Wright of Lima Shawnee had a 12.25 time and Cat Humphries of Cincinnati Archbishop McNicholas ran a 12.31 time.

Boykin will be in lane five in the first heat of Friday’s preliminaries. The top eight times advance to Saturday’s finals.

In the 200 meters, Pettigrew had a 25.09 time to lead the qualifiers. Wright ran a 25.14, Brittni Showers of Doylestown Chippewa had a 12.45 time and Boykin 25.48.

“Mandi has a chance in both races. She usually runs better when the competition is better. I look for her to run well,” Ironton Lady Tigers coach Tim Thomas said.

Ironton’s Marc Carter, a sophomore, is among the top seven times in the 800-meter run.

Carter enters with a 1:55.86 time in the regionals. Seven runners have a time of 1:55 or less entering the state meet.

Jake Baechle of Aurora has the fastest qualifying time at 1:52.92 and Patrick Kelly of Huntington Valley University School has a 1:53.14 time.Ironton junior John Pemberton had a 52-9.5 throw in the shot put at the regionals to earn a trip to the state meet. He has thrown more than 53 feet this season.

Kurt Roberts of Athens enters the meet as the favorite with a 59-4 toss. Two other throwers have heaves of 57-feet.

South Point’s 4×400 relay team of Zach Norris, Josh Jones, Aaron Patterson and David Absher ran a 3:30.57 in the regional and will run in lane seven of the first heat of the preliminaries.

Seven teams are under 3:27 coming in to the meet with Akron Buchtel the favorite at 3:19.97.

The Pointers senior Benji Smith will run in the second heat of the 110-meter hurdles. He had a 15.88 time in the regionals.

Eight entries at the state meet have times under 15 seconds.

The Lady Pointers Ericka Leighty, who went 5-2 in the regional, will be among the high jump candidates.

Katelyn Williams of Chesterland Geauga has the top height at 5-foot-7 and Cathy Udeani of Columbus Bishop Hartley comes in at 5-6. Three other jumpers have cleared 5-5.

In the Division III meet, Chesapeake senior Brent Ransbottom will battle Dalton’s Jake Dalessandro in the high jump.

Last year, Dalessandro edged Ransbottom to win the state championship. Dalessandro cleared 6-8 in the regionals while Ransbottom went 6-5.

Ransbottom has won the event in every meet this season and his usual height has been 6-8. He does have a height of 6-9 to his credit.

The Panthers 4×400-meter relay team of Adam Slone, Jeffrey Thornburg, Kenny Morgan and Caleb McComas comes in with a 3:28.01 clocking which is the eighth fastest overall among entries.

Cleveland Villa Angela-St. Joseph has the fastest time at 3:23.86.

Thornburg will run in the 110-meter hurdles. His qualifying time was 15.41 which is the seventh best in his heat.

Four runners are under 15 seconds with Christopher Sackman of Toledo Maumee Valley Country Day the favorite at 14.25 seconds.

Coal Grove junior thrower Tyler Branch will pull double duty.

Branch had a 48-2.5 in the shot put which is the 13th best entering the state meet. Curtis Hoag of Mt. Blanchard Riverdale has the best heave of 58-7 while Jack Wilson of Dola Hardin has a throw of 58-0.75.

In the discus, Branch enters with a throw of 150-10 which is 11th overall. Hoag at 163-2 is the favorite.

Chesapeake Lady Panthers 200-meter dash runner Laura Fields, who qualified at 27.27 seconds, will run in lane seven of heat one.

The favorite in the event is Taylor Jackson of Gates Mills Gilmour Academy with a qualifying time of 24.66 seconds.

Admission each day to the meet is $8. However, parking will be free.