Boykin leads area all-district

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, April 3, 2007

Mandi Boykin has been a standout and leader for four years. She did it one more time without going on the basketball court.

Boykin led area selections by being named the girls Division III Southeast District Co-Player of the Year Tuesday by the Associated Press.

Boykin, who has led Ironton to two district titles, one regional championship and one runner-up as well as a state tournament appearance, shared the honor with Keilee Guthrie of Alexander,

Email newsletter signup

A total of 36 area players were selected to the district teams in divisions II, III and IV.

Area first team selections were:

Chad Miller of Ironton, boys Div. III; Michael Humphrey of Symmes Valley, Div. IV; Boykin, Coal Grove’s Chelsea Markins and Chesapeake’s Sarah Rucker, girls Div. III; Tiffany Bryant of Symmes Valley and Elista Hall of Green, girls Div. IV.

Second team selections were:

Andrew Stumbo of Rock Hill, boys Div. II; Tyler Shoemaker of Ironton, Chase McWhorter of South Point, and Michael Lamb of Fairland, boys Div. III; Michael Basedow of St. Joseph, boys Div. IV; Jessica Waddle of Ironton, girls Div. III; and Emily Bowling of Symmes Valley, girls Div. IV.

Third team selections were: Mike Stapleton of Chesapeake, and Cole Hatfield of Fairland, boys Div. III; Chad Harvey of St. Joseph, Kyle Meadows of Symmes Valley, and Nathan Patten of Green, boys Div. IV; Samantha Hall of Coal Grove, Sarah Lee of South Point, and Bobbi Harper of Rock Hill, girls Div. III.

Honorable mention selections were: Nathan Davenport of Rock Hill, boys Div. II; Alstan Carter of Ironton, Adam Bare of Coal Grove, Dustin Bumgardner of Fairland, and Kyle Rase of Chesapeake, boys Div. III; Ian Kelley of Green, boys Div. IV; Shea Berry and Molly Bumgardner of Fairland, Brooke Long of Rock Hill, T’Ann Mayo of South Point, and Lexy Staton of Chesapeake, girls Div. III; Lindsay Dressel, St. Joseph, and Kayla Saunders, Symmes Valley, girls Div. IV.

A breakdown of area all-district players appears at the bottom of the page. For a complete all-district list see Page 11.

The AP Southeast district has a total of 19 teams in Division II, 30 schools in Division III and 20 in Division IV.