Symmes Valley#8217;s Humphrey leads coaches#8217; selections

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, April 3, 2007

The coaches have made their decisions.

The Ohio High School Basketball Coaches Association District 13 has announced its all-star teams with its all-star game set to follow on Monday.

Symmes Valley senior Michael Humphrey was voted the Division IV Player of the Year.

Email newsletter signup

Nick Miller of the Coal Grove Lady Hornets and Kevin Hacker of the St. Joseph Flyers earned individual coaching honors.

Miller got the honor in Div. III after guiding Coal Grove to a 16-4 record. Hacker shared the honor with Ben Bethel of Miller. Hacker led the Flyers to an 11-9 record and its first sectional championship in 32 years.

Area players honored include:

Boys Division II: Andrew Stumbo, Rock Hill, first team; Nathan Davenport, Rock Hiller, Mike Ison, Rock Hill, Matt Matney, Rock Hill, special mention;

Boys Division III: Chad Miller, Ironton, first team; Chase McWhorter, South Point, first team; Mchael Lamb, Fairland, first team; Mike Stapleton, Chesapeake, second team, Tyler Shoemaker, Ironton, special mention;

Boys Division IV: Michael Humphrey, Symmes Valley, first team; Michael Basedow, St. Joseph, second team; Kyle Meadows, Symmes Valley, Jacob Johnson, Symmes Valley, second team; Ryan Staton, St. Joseph, special mention; Kirt Shipley, Symmes Valley, special mention.

Girls Division III: Mandi Boykin, Ironton, first team; Chelsea Markins, Coal Grove, first team; Sarah Rucker, Chesapeake, first team; Sarah Lee, South Point, second team; Jessica Waddle, Ironton, second team; Samantha Hall, Coal Grove, second team; Bobbi Harper, Rock Hill, second team; Shea Bearry, Fairland, second team; T’Ann Mayo, South Point, special mention; Molly Bumgardner, Fairland, special mention;

Girls Division IV: Tiffany Bryant, Symmes Valley, Emily Bowling, Symmes Valley, Kayla Saunders, Symmes Valley, second team.

Ohio Basketball Coaches Assoc.

District 13 All-Star Team

Boys Divisions I & II

First Team


Jerrod AlbrightVinton Co.12

Cory KriechbaumMarietta12

Jaymes HaggertyGallipolis12

Dustin GuthrieVinton Co.11

Andrew StumboRock Hill12

Lucas WrightLogan11

Second Team

Chris PeckensWarren12

David PooleMeigs12

Jeff GoldenGallipolis11

Robert ElmoreAthens12

Eric HenryVinton Co.12

Special Mention

David RumleyGallipolis11

Nathan DavenportRock Hill11

Ryan BordenJackson10

Mike IsonRock Hill12

Matt MatneyRock Hill11

Players of the Year: Jerrod Albright, Vinton County, & Cory Kriechbaum, Marietta

Coach of the Year: Matt Combs, Vinton County

North-South Representative: Cory Kriechbaum, Marietta

Alternate: Dustin Guthrie, Vinton County

Boys Division III


Evan GarrettFederal Hocking12

Chase McWhorterSouth Point12

Jordan ThornhillBelpre12

Chad MillerIronton12

Michael LambFairland10

Garland StiltnerOak Hill12

Second Team

Matt DemoskyAlexander12

Mike StapletonChesapeake12

Brant DayFederal Hocking12

Jay EdwardsNelsonville-York12

Bryan MorrowRiver Valley12

Special Mention

Josh WalterNelsonville-York12

Zach HedrickAlexander12

Tyler ShoemakerIronton11

Adam TateFederal Hocking12

Jason JonesRiver Valley12

Micah PfalzgrafBelpre11

Player of the Year: Evan Garrett, Federal Hocking

Coach of the Year: Joe Butcher, Federal Hocking

North-South Representative: Evan Garrett, Federal Hocking (for Divisions III & IV)

Alternate: Chase McWhorter, South Point

Boys Division IV

First Team


Michael HumphreySymmes Valley12

Dustin McCombsSouth Gallia12

Dustin HouseholderMiller11

Alex McGrathEastern12

Corbin SellersSouthern12

D.J. CunninghamWaterford10

Second Team

Michael BasedowSt. Joseph12

Mark ChristmanTrimble12

Kyle MeadowsSymmes Valley12

Brandon HendershotWaterford11

Patrick JohnsonSouthern12

Jacob JohnsonSymmes Valley11

Special Mention

Ryan StatonSt. Joseph12

Kirt ShipleySymmes Valley12

Derek HogeWaterford11

Gary TornesWaterford11

Player of the Year: Michael Humphrey, Symmes Valley

Coach of the Year: Kevin Hacker, Ironton St. Joseph, & Ben Bethel, Miller

Ohio Basketball Coaches Assoc.

District 13 All-Star Team

Girls Divisions I & II

First Team


Kristen CozzensWarren12

Jessica HarrisLogan11

Megan OwingsVinton Co.11

Catie WolfeMeigs10

Mallory BrooksWarren10

Brittany ChristianJackson12

Second Team

Kristen CassadyLogan12

Tori DixonVinton Co.9

Brittany ElliottGallipolis12

Jessi HarkinsVinton Co.11

Ryan LeslieGallipolis11

Special Mention

Jarin WaschJackson11

Rebecca PuckettVinton Co.9

Meghan ClellandMeigs12

Danielle FriesWarren12

Collette BolenLogan11

Alexis Geiger Gallipolis10

Players of the Year: Kristen Couzzens, Warren

Coach of the Year: Jeremy Ward, Vinton County

North-South Representative: Kristen Cozzens, Warren

Alternate: Kristen Cassady, Logan

Girls Division III

First Team


Keilee GuthrieAlexander12

Mandi BoykinIronton12

Chelsea MarkinsCoal Grove12

Lacey AdkinsOak Hill12

Sarah RuckerChesapeake12

Megan EdwardsNelsonville-York12

Second Team

Sarah LeeSouth Point12

Jessica WaddleIronton11

Samantha HallCoal Grove12

Bobbi HarperRock Hill12

Shea BerryFairland12

Special Mention

T’Ann MayoSouth Point11

Molly BumgardnerFairland12

Jamie TurrillAlexander12

Karissa AdkinsOak Hill9

Lisa MeadeNelsonville-York11

Player of the Year: Keilee Guthrie, Alexander

Coach of the Year: Nick Miller, Coal Grove

North-South Representative: Keilee Guthrie, Alexander (for Divisions III & IV)

Alternate: Mandi Boykin, Ironton

Girls Division IV

First Team

Erin WeberEastern12

Sina KingWaterford9

Jessi DrayerWateford10

Kasey TurleySouthern9

Tabby JenkinsTimble12

Britany BrownWaterford10

Second Team

Jenna HuppEastern12

Tiffany BryantSymmes Valley12

Kourtney KinnisonTrimble11

Emily BowlingSymmes Valley11

Kayla SaundersSymmes Valley12

Special Mention

Katie HaymanEastern11

Tiffany WallaceWaterford12

Whitney Wolfe-RiffleSouthern11

Bethany AmrineWaterford12

Allie JagoTrimble12

Players of the Year: Erin Weber, Eastern, & Sina King, Waterford

Coach of the Year: Jerry Close, Waterford