Boggs wins at RTR

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, July 3, 2007

COAL GROVE — With hot weather outside, the racing has hot and heavy on the track as the seventh race of the season got under way. A good crowd gathered in the stands to watch the action on the track.

The night’s action would see two drivers claim their first-ever RTR wins.

In the Late Model A-Main, Randy Boggs took the lead at the start with Kevin Wagner behind him in second. On a lap two restart, things got interesting as Boggs ran down low and Casey Vitale put his

Email newsletter signup

No. 3v on the high side. Vitale made up ground running the cushion and caught up to Boggs to battle side by side for the lead.

After two laps of battling side by side, Boggs moved his No. 51 up high and never looked back as he claimed his first Rocky Top Late Model feature win. Wagner finished second with Vitale third, Chris Wilson fourth, and Shawn Holliday fifth. Wagner and Boggs won Carl Grover Motorsports heat races.

In the Modified A-Main, Rick Walker took the lead at the start and never looked back as he dominated to take his first ever Rocky Top win in a caution free race. Eddie Harmon finished second with Todd Robinson third, Adam Jordan fourth, and Chris Shelton fifth. Walker and Harmon won Carl Grover Motorsports heat races.

Jeremie Bretz and Brett Carey had an intense battle for the lead in the Bomber A-Main. Bretz and Carey ran side by side for nearly half the race. Bretz took the lead in the early laps with Carey getting around him and leading until lap 10. On lap 10, Bretz, using the high side, got around Carey and held him off in a tight battle to take the win.

With the win, Bretz became the winningest driver in Rocky Top Raceway Bomber history. Carey finished second with John Rayburn third, Perry Dearing fourth, and Danny Hamilton fifth. Bretz and Carey won Carl Grover Motorsports heat races.

In the Mod Lite A-Main, Dennis Lampheir took the lead at the start with Mike Weaver following behind him in second. On lap two, Weaver, running the high side, took the lead.

Lampheir didn’t go anywhere though as he, running the bottom, ran side by side with Weaver for the next 10 laps. Finally, with four laps to go, Lampheir cleared Weaver off of turn two to claim the feature win.

Mike Weaver finished second with David Seitz third, Roger Seitz fourth, and Jerry Cushing fifth. Lampheir and Weaver won Carl Grover Motorsports heat races.

Rocky Top continues on Friday with a full racing program of Late Models-$1,200 to win, Modifieds-$650 to win, and Bombers-$350 to win.

For more information visit