Conley makes return as Rocky Top Raceway opens new season

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, July 3, 2007

COAL GROVE — Three states, one track and a fourth season.

With one of the largest crowds in Rocky Top Raceway history on hand, the fourth season of racing began Friday night with cars from three states competing including National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame driver Delmas Conley.

In the Late Model A-Main, Rod Conley took the lead from Josh

Email newsletter signup

Bocook from the start.

As Conley stretched out his lead, the best battle on track was for the second position as Josh Bocook, Casey Vitale, and Shawn Holliday battled two and three wide for the position. That battle stayed close until Bocook spun around the halfway point.

In the second half of the race, Rod Conley proved to be unbeatable as he took his first career Rocky Top Raceway victory over Casey Vitale in second, Delmas Conley in third, Holliday in fourth, and Nick Bocook in fifth.

Rod Conley was fast qualifier while Josh Bocook won the dash race.

Carl Grover Motorsports heat races were won by Delmas Conley and Nick Bocook.

In the Modified A-Main, Todd Robinson took the lead at the start and dominated to take the season opener win. Behind Robinson was David McWilliams in second, Jason Perry in third, Greg Thompson in fourth, and Craig Christian in fifth.

Thompson was fast qualifier while Robinson and McWilliams won Carl Grover Motorsports heat races.

In the Bomber A-Main, Jeremie Bretz took the lead at the start as the best battle early on was for second between Brett Carey and Wayne Hughes. Carey would get by Hughes around the halfway mark and set his sights on Bretz. Carey and Bretz battled hard, even making contact at points throughout the race.

On a restart with one lap to go, Carey tried his hardest to get by Bretz but was a car length short as Bretz took the season opening win.

Carey finished second with Hughes in third, Nub Ross in fourth, and David Dunn in fifth. Bretz and Carey won Carl Grover Motorsports heat races.

In the Mod Lite A-Main, Mike Weaver took the lead at the start as the field battled two and three wide behind him. Nobody would have anything for Weaver though as Weaver took the win in the inaugural Mod Lite race at Rocky Top.

Dennis Lampheir finished second with Kevin Spencer in third, No. 222 Cossin in fourth, and the No. 5c in fifth. Weaver and Spencer won Carl Grover Motorsports heat races.

Rocky Top continues tonight with a complete racing program of Late Models, Modifieds, and Bombers. General Admission is only $12 with Pit Admission $25.

For more information visit us on the web at: