Hornets deal Pointers first loss

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, July 3, 2007

COAL GROVE – This time, things were different.

A lot different.

Coal Grove eliminated its errors and used the 5-hit pitching of Zach Murphy to upset the South Point

Email newsletter signup

Pointers 4-3 Wednesday in an Ohio Valley Conference game.

“The first time we made 13 errors. This time we made the plays. They threatened a few times but we stopped it,” said Hornets coach John Jones of a mercy rule loss in the first meeting.

Each team scored a run in the first inning.

Brown singled, stole second, took third on a throwing error and scored on a throw to first base on a dropped third strike.

The Hornets answered when Zach Murphy singled, Shannon Goodwin walked and Scott Harbolt had an RBI single.

The Pointers scored in the second inning. With two outs, Smith walked, stole second, took third on a passed ball and came home on a hit by Kyle Hughes.

The Pointers went up 3-1 in the top of third.

Beau Weed was hit by a pitch and scored on a two-out double by Trenton Moore.

Coal Grove got the run back in the bottom of the inning on a two-out solo home run by Taylor Dean.

The Hornets tied the game in the fifth inning.

Murphy singled with two outs and Goodwin followed with a single that got through the outfield for an error Murphy scored.

Coal Grove then won the game in the bottom of the seventh.

Oakie Haynes reached on an error, Goodwin singled an out later and Dean was intentionally walked to load the bases.

After a force out at home, Alex Johnson singled to centerfield on a 1-2 pitch to score pinch-runner Andrew Jenkins.

Coal Grove (5-10, 2-4) hosts River Valley Friday. South Point (8-1, 4-1) hosts Ironton Thursday and Rock Hill Friday.

South Point1110000=353

Coal Grove1010101=481

Jacob Seagraves (8-K, 2-BB), Trenton Moore (6) and Tyler Smith. Zach Murphy and Taylor Dean. W-Murphy (4-K, 4-BB). L-Moore (2-K, 1-BB, 2-H, 1-ER). 2B-SP: Trent Moore. 3B-CG: Wayne Sparks. HR-CG: Taylor Dean. Hitting-SP: Chris Brown 1-4, Trenton Moore 1-3, Tyler Smith 2-2, Kyle Hughes 1-2; Coal Grove: Zach Murphy 2-4, Shannon Goodwin 2-3, Taylor Dean 1-2, Scott Harbolt 1-4, Alex Johnson 1-4, Wayne Sparks 1-3.