Ironton squanders big lead again in loss to Jackson

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, July 3, 2007

JACKSON — Could somebody write a new script?

The story was an old one for the Ironton Fighting Tigers. Ironton took another big lead only to watch its defense falter and allow the opponent to rally.

Ironton built a 7-0 lead only to see the Jackson Ironmen rally for a 9-8 win Monday in a Southeastern Ohio Athletic League game.

Email newsletter signup

“It was the same old story. We get a big lead and errors killed us. It’s frustrating,” said Ironton coach Tobey Schreck.

Ironton snapped a scoreless tie with seven runs in the top of the third inning.

David Bridges walked and Nick Lewis and Jeremy Moore smacked back-to-back RBI doubles. Tanner Reed reached on an error. Wes Runyon singled for another run.

After Josh Pancake walked, Chad Miller had a two-run double and T.J. Keith grounded out to drive in the final run.

Jackson got three runs in the bottom of the inning on a pair of walks, a run-scoring single by Kyle Newsome and a two-run single by Tyrus Coyan.

Jackson cut the deficit to 7-5 in the fourth inning without a hit. The Ironmen used a walk, two errors and groundout.

Ironton’s lead went to 8-5 in the top of the sixth inning. Keith doubled, stole third base and scored on an error.

Jackson got two runs in the bottom of the inning on a walk, a double by Smith and singles by Newsome, Coyan and Nathaniel Haller.

In the bottom of the seventh, the first two batters struck out. But Seth Osborne was hit by a pitch, Newsome walked, and back-to-back errors scored two runs to give Jackson the win.

Miller suffered the tough loss despite striking out 12, walking five. Only five of the nine runs were earned.

Dillon Cryder got the win for Jackson (4-7, 2-5).

Ironton (4-7, 3-5) visits Gallipolis Wednesday.



Chad Miller and Tanner Reed. Dillon Cryder and Nathaniel Haller. W-Cyder (8-K, 6-BB). L-Miller (12-K, 5-BB, 5-ER). 2B-Ironton: Chad Miller, T.J. Keith, Nick Lewis, Jeremy Moore; Jackson: Bruce Smith. Hitting-Ironton: Chad Miller 1-3, T.J. Keith 1-3, Nick Lewis 1-4, Jeremy Moore 1-4, Tanner Reed 1-4, Wes Runyon 1-3; Jackson: Kyle Newsome 2-4, Bruce Smith 1-4, Tyrus Coyan 2-5, Nathaniel Haller 1-3, Dillon Cryder 2-4.