OHSAA assigns schools playoff divisions, regions

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, July 3, 2007

The numbers have been crunched and the assignments have been made.

The Ohio High School Athletic Associated has announced the 2007 football season divisional breakdown along with division and region assignments for member schools.

Schools are assigned to a division based on the male enrollment for the top three grades. A count is made in October of grades 9-11 which will be grades 10-12 for the 2007 season.

Email newsletter signup

Division I is for schools with 524 or more boys. Div. II is for schools with 365 to 523 boys, Div. III 257 to 364, Div. IV 187 to 256, Div. V 131 to 186, and Div. VI 130 or fewer.

Local teams in Div. IV are Ironton, Rock Hill, South Point, and Fairland. They will be in Region 15.

Some notable teams in Region 15 are Gallipolis, Portsmouth, Amanda-Clearcreek, Bellaire, Martins Ferry, Northwest, Waverly, Wellston, New Lexington, River Valley, Meigs, Westfall and Columbus Bishop Hartley.

Coal Grove and Chesapeake are in Region 19 of Div. V along with other familiar teams such as Wheelersburg, Portsmouth West, Minford, Belpre, Lucasville Valley and Oak Hill.

In Div. VI, Symmes Valley is in Region 23 while Green is in Region 24. Other teams in the Souheast region are Trimble, South Gallia, Newark Catholic, Zanesville Rosecrans, Racine Southern, and Reedsville Eastern.

Joining Green in Region 24 are Portsmouth Notre Dame and East. The region includes Southwest Ohio schools.