Smith, Logan earn state meet berths

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, July 3, 2007

BYESVILLE – Quay Logan and Chris Smith already have their tickets punched.

Logan, a sophomore for the South Point Pointers, and Smith, a senior, qualified at the Division II regional tournament’s first day Thursday for a berth in the state track meet next weekend at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium on the campus of Ohio State University.

Logan leaped 20-9 and one-half to win the long jump by eight inches over Nick Wilson of Richmond Edison.

Email newsletter signup

Smith threw the discus 154-7 to place fourth in the event. The top four finishers in the finals advance to the state meet.

Ironton’s John Pemberton just missed a guaranteed trip in the discus. He threw 150-7 – a personal best – and finished fifth. Pemberton and Smith will both threw the shot put on Saturday.

South Point’s Ericka Leighty was sixth in the high jump as she cleared 5-1 while teammate Sarah Lee was 14th as she cleared 4-8. Anna Bridges of Rock Hill also cleared 4-8.

Ironton’s Mandi Boykin qualified for three events in the finals. She had the best qualifying times in the 100-meter dash and the 200. The 4×100 relay team of Cinnamon Fletcher, Michelle Pancake, Rachel Walker and Boykin had the third best time (50.76) to reach the finals.

Fairland’s 4×800 relay team of Chad Gibson, Chuckie Wentz, Eddie Adkins and Matt Bloomfield ran an 8:27.02 to place sixth and make the finals.

Travis Jones, Chris Jackson, Gibson and Bloomfield also reached the finals with a 3:32.04 time in the 4×400 relay.

Aaron Ward of Fairland (16.00) and Wes Pierson of Rock Hill (15.72) both qualified for the 110-meter hurdle finals.

The Lady Pointers 4×200 relay team of Megan Crabtree, Emily Barker, Leighty and Lee ran a 1:49.03 to advance to the finals.

South Point’s Zach Norris, Josh Jones, Zach Woody and Drew Lynd ran a 1:33.76 to make the finals.

Saturday’s meet begins at 11:30 a.m.