Boggs wins thriller over Christy at Rocky Top Raceway

Published 12:00 am Sunday, July 29, 2007

COAL GROVE — Following the biggest races in Rocky Top Raceway history, a full racing program of Late Models, Modifieds, and Bombers was on the card last Friday.

In the Late Model A-Main, Josh Bocook and Kenny Christy battled side by side for the lead at the start.

Christy got the point as Bocook pulled off the track with a flat tire on lap two.

Email newsletter signup

On the restart, Jackie Boggs put his No. 4b up high, nearly against the wall, to battle side by side for the lead with Christy. For the next 10 laps, the two battled side by side every lap, nobody giving an inch until Boggs was able to get the lead in lapped traffic.

With Christy chasing Boggs through lapped traffic, only a car length behind, the battle for third heated up as Terry Hicks was able to get past Tom Hall for the position. With Christy now on Boggs’ bumper, a caution flag flew on the final lap to set up a green-white-checkered finish.

On the restart, Boggs jumped back up to the high side with Christy down low as they battled side by side for the lead.

On the last lap, into turn three, Christy drove his No. 11h in hard to get side by side for the win in the middle of the turn.

Off of turn four the two were still side by side with high side momentum carrying Boggs to his third RTR win this season.

Christy finished second with Terry Hicks third, Tom Hall fourth, and Tre Martin fifth. Josh Bocook and Christy won Carl Grover Motorsports heat races.

In the Modified A-Main, Todd Robinson took the lead at the start as Jason Perry settled into the second spot.

In the early stages of the race, Robinson had about a five-car length lead over Perry. However, as the race hit the midway point, Perry closed right up on Robinson as he was on his bumper.

In the final five laps, Robinson began to pull away again as he came across the line for his fourth win at Rocky Top this season.

Perry finished second with Dave Kelley third, Scott Linville fourth, and Jimmy Adams in fifth. Robinson and Perry won Carl Grover Motorsports heat races.

In the Bomber A-Main, Perry Dearing took the lead at the start as the best battle on track was for second between Wayne Hughes and Jeremie Bretz.

After several laps of side by side racing between the two, Bretz spun with three laps to go to bring out the caution flag.

On the restart, Hughes went right up on the tail of Dearing and got a run on the inside of him as they battled side by side for the lead.

Dearing was able to hold him off though as he came to the checkers to claim his first RTR feature win. Hughes finished second with Tim Aldridge third, Wade Miller fourth, and Eric Dennison fifth. Perry Dearing and David Dunn won Carl Grover Motorsports heat races.

Top continues on Friday with a full racing program of Late Models-$1,200 to win, Modifieds-$650 to win, and Bombers-$350 to win.

A new special event has been announced as the “Accent Health Care 35” will take place on Aug. 10 for a $3,000 to win Late Model show.

General admission for Friday’s races is $12 with pit admission $25.

For more information visit