Board of ed spots open in 7 districts

Published 12:00 am Saturday, November 3, 2007

Voters will decide on Tuesday if Lawrence County’s boards of education will stay the same or charge.

Every public district has at least two seats up for grabs.

On the Lawrence County Educational Service Center Board, Kenneth Shafer and Darrell Davis, both incumbents are seeking to retain their seats and have no opposition.

Email newsletter signup

Voters in the Chesapeake school district will choose three board members next month. Incumbent Judge Dolen is seeking re-election and is joined ont he ballot by David Bennett, Carl Lilly, Kenneth Ater, Mike Dyer and Kim Oxley.

Dawson-Bryant voters will choose two board members from a field of six candidates. James Beals and William Stapleton are both incumbents seeking another term on the board. The other four candidates are Darren Hankins, Deanna Holliday, Gary Dutey and Robert Goodwin.

In the Fairland district two seats are open. Incumbent John Lewis is one of four candidates running. The others are Martin Appleton, Jason Gorby and David Judd.

Voters in Ironton will choose three board members from a field of five candidates. In addition to incumbents Kathy Kratzenberg, Robert Pleasant and Tim Johnson, John Wolfe and Phil Staton are also running.

Rock Hill voters will elect four board members. Incumbent Rich Donohue and Paul R. Johnson are seeking to fill the unexpired term of the late Carl Large. In a separate race, incumbents Dennis Hankins and Ora Cox will vie for three spots along with Don Guy, Tim Crank, Lavetta Sites, Keith Roth and Troy Hardy.

South Point voters will select three board members. Incumbents Glen Seagraves and Terry Blake are seeking re-election. Also running are Mary Cogan, Randy Keffer, Tom Roberts, Fred Clay and Wallace Smith.

In the Symmes Valley district, voters will choose two board members from a field of four — incumbent Kent Wells and Greg Ralph, Mike Wall and Kim Turner.