Familiar faces return to BOE

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, November 14, 2007

Familiar faces will take seats on the Ironton Board of Education when it organizes for the new year.

Tuesday night, incumbents Tim Johnson and Robert Pleasant Jr. won the right to keep their seats on the board. Joining them will be John Wolfe, who previously served on the board.

Johnson collected the most votes, 2,064, or just under 25 percent, while Pleasant was second with 1,968 ballots in his favor. Wolfe, with 1,855 votes came in third. Incumbent Kathy Kratzenberg and newcomer Philip Staton finished fourth and fifth respectively.

Email newsletter signup

Johnson said winning an election is a “humbling experience” because it is evidence of the trust voters have placed in the candidate they chose.

“I think honestly, when you treat people fairly and try to do the best you can and do what’s right for the kids, people respect that,” Johnson said. “I’m going to be fiscally responsible for the building project and do what’s right for generations to come.”

Pleasant said he thought voters returned him to the board because they have been pleased with the board’s accomplishments over the years and want that progress to continue.

“I think they see what’s being done and that things are going well and I highlighted that,” Pleasant said.

He said he wants to see the completion of the new school buildings and see academic progress continue in the district as well.

Both Pleasant and Johnson said they look forward to working with Wolfe. Wolfe served a few months on the board in late 2003 after Kathy McGinnis resigned.

He had served on the board several years ago also.

At the Lawrence County Courthouse Tuesday night, Wolfe joked he was “the oldest guy in the race by far,” but was outspoken and people appreciated that frankness.

“They liked my directness and the fact I say exactly what I think,” Wolfe said. “And I’ve been here twice before and they know I have no ulterior motive.”

Pleasant, Johnson and Wolfe will work with Jerry Rowe and Bob Vaughn, whose seats were not up for re-election.