Leadership Tri-State to honor Strickland

Published 12:00 am Saturday, December 29, 2007

ASHLAND, Ky. — Gov. Ted Strickland will receive the annual “Community Service Award,” given by Leadership Tri-State.

The award, begun in 1997, is to honor individuals from the Tri-State who the organization deems are leaders in their community.

A committee made up of members of the Leadership Tri-State board chose Strickland back in the fall. The award is rotated annually among the three states. Next year the honoree will come from Kentucky and in 2009 the individual will have West Virginia ties.

Email newsletter signup

The committee looks at the individual’s work in developing community leadership, especially with young leaders, according to Jim Purgerson, president of the Ashland Alliance and committee member.

“And the criteria is frankly subjective in that it is based on a body of work by an individual,” Purgerson said. “Frankly, it has more to do with his contributions in the past. There are no political ramifications at all. It is rare that there is an elected official chosen. It was in great part for his overall contributions as a Congressman with his emphasis on trying to improve the quality of life in Southern Ohio and the entire Tri-State. He has been a backer of the Tri-State Airport.”

The award will be given during a luncheon

at noon Thursday, Jan. 31, 2008, at the Ashland Plaza Hotel.

Past honorees have included former Ashland Inc. CEO John Hall, Lawrence County business leader Bill Dingus, Huntington businessman Marshall Reynolds, Ashland cardiologist Dr. Charles Rhodes and Huntington physicians, Drs. Joseph and Omayma Touma.

Cost for the luncheon is $125 per person. There are also three levels of sponsorship: A table of eight is $1,000;

a table of eight and recognition in the program, on the day and in all advertising is $2,000; and a table of 12 and recognition in the program, on the day and in all advertising is $3,000.

For more information or to make a reservation, contact Sharon Walker, Leadership Tri-State executive director at (606) 324-1787.