Waddle, Harvey top all-district picks

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, February 26, 2008

Good seasons bring good results. The results of this season brought a lot of good things.

Area players and coaches picked up four awards and 33 players were honored on the Associated Press Southeast All-District basketball team announced Monday.

Ironton Lady Fighting Tigers Jessica Waddle and St. Joseph’s Chad Harvey earned individual awards while South Point’s Gary Norris and Symmes Valley’s Alvin Carpenter grabbed coaching honors.

Email newsletter signup

The 5-foot-9 senior Waddle was named the Division III co-Player of the Year while St. Joseph’s 6-2 junior guard Chad Harvey was the Division IV Player of the Year.

Waddle shared the award with Lydia Bridenbaugh of Huntington Ross who averaged 26.6 points a game.

Waddle put together a strong all-around game to get the award. A 1,000-point career scorer, Waddle averaged 18.6 points a game, 4.9 rebounds, 2.8 assists, 3.1 steals and shot 80 percent from the foul line.

The four-year letter winner was considered an outstanding defensive player.

Harvey averaged 21.6 points per game as he shot 53 percent from 2-point range, 43 percent from behind the arc, and 71 percent from the line.

Despite playing point guard, he led the team with 8.2 rebounds along with 4.4 assists and 4.3 steals.

Norris not only guided the South Point Pointers to an Ohio Valley Conference championship despite having only one returning starter, but to a 20-0 regular season.

Carpenter grabbed the reins as the Vikings unexpectedly won the Southern Ohio Conference championship and posted a 15-5 regular season record.

In boys Division III, South Point sophomore Todd Mayo, Fairland junior Michael Lamb, and Chesapeake senior Tyler Shoemaker were named to the first team.

Shoemaker was second team last season.

Mayo, who averaged 22.7 points a game, finished second to Wheelersburg senior Drew Spradlin for the Player of the Year.

Voted to the second team was Ironton 5-8 senior guard Marc Carter, South Point 6-2 senior forward Beau Weed, and Rock Hill 6-4 senior Nate Davenport.

On the third team was Fairland junior guard Cole Hatfield. Named to the honorable mention list were Rock Hill senior Matt Matney, Fairland senior Dustin Bumgardner, and Chesapeake senior Kyle Rase.

Ironton junior Merecedes Crockrel, South Point freshman Jordan Fletcher, and Coal Grove junior Jordyn Cox were named to the Division III second team.

South Point sophomore Tinesha Taylor was a third team pick in Division III while Rock Hill senior Brooke Long, South Point senior T’Ann Mayo, Chesapeake senior Rachel Harris, Ironton senior Michelle Pancake, and Fairland junior Destinee Spears were honorable mention.

In Division IV, Symmes Valley senior guard Tyler Smith and Green senior forward Randy Ratcliff were named to the second team with Symmes Valley senior guard Jacob Johnson third team.

On the honorable mention list were St. Joseph junior Caleb Blackburn, Symmes Valley senior Chris Capper, and Green junior guard Matt Clarke.

Green’s sophomore Adrianne Blankenship was a second team selection in Division IV.

Selected honorable mention were St. Joseph senior center Charleigh Haas and sophomore forward Michelle Staton, Symmes Valley senior guard Jessie Morris and junior forward Haily Pelletier, and Green junior guard Ashlee Runyon.