Child Welfare Club to honor 10 Eddy Award winners

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, June 3, 2008

Staff Report

The officials of the Child Welfare Club announced the winners of the 2008 Eddy Awards.

The club’s Eddy Test is given to the top 25 percent of students from Ironton Middle School and St. Lawrence Catholic School.

Email newsletter signup

Eligibility is determined by scores on the 5th grade Ohio Achievement tests for Ironton students and the composite score of any nationally norm standardized test for St. Lawrence students.

This year, 27 students qualified to take the test, which was administered at Ohio University Southern.

The Child Welfare Club paid for lunch for all test candidates, as well as the testing materials and scoring services.

The Child Welfare Club began in 1919 with the goal of helping under privileged children.

The club has provided many programs for children throughout the years.

In 1960, the Eddy Award was established to identify students who had attained top academic achievement in the 6th grade.

This year, 10 students have been named as recipients of an Eddy Award.

The honorees for this year are Mackenzie Ackerson, daughter of Bethany Foglesong and Kevin Ackerson; Jacob Barber, son of Dana Crabtree and Scott Barber; Saige Fields, daughter of Mark and Marissa Fields; Hailee Haas, daughter of Paul and Merranda Haas; Ashton McMackin, daughter of Patrick and LaDonna McMackin; Maggie Thomas, daughter of Bill and Ginger Thomas; Haley Waldo, daughter of Kevin and Rayetta Waldo; Kara Addis, daughter of Scott and Diana Addis; Joseph Payton, son of Ed and Eileen Payton, and Ashley Scharfenberg, daughter of Daryl and Colleen Scharfenberg.

This year’s winners, with their parents and guests, will be honored with an awards banquet at 6 p.m. Thursday, June 5 at Ohio University Southern in the Mains Rotunda.