Boggs, Stephens win commissioners seats

Published 5:32 am Wednesday, November 5, 2008

The balance of the Lawrence County Commission will shift from two Democrats and one Republican to two Republicans and a Democrat come January.

Jason Stephens and Les Boggs won their respective races Tuesday during Lawrence County’s general election.

Incumbent Stephens, of Getaway, asked voters to give him a third term in office and Lawrence Countians did just that.

Email newsletter signup

Stephens collected 14,021 votes, or 54.36 percent of the ballots cast. Stephens noted he even carried some traditionally Democratic areas, meaning his appeal transcended party lines.

“I’m really pleased and thankful,” Stephens said. “I am the first Republican to be elected three times in a row since the early ’70s. And my margins have grown each election so I feel good.”

Stephens touted his experience in government as well as his experience as a businessman and financial planner as his greatest strengths during his campaign. He said late Tuesday night he thinks that experience and his proven results during his first two terms were the key factors in winning that third term.

“When you make tough decisions, not everyone is going to be happy but people know what they can expect of me and that I will do my best for Lawrence County.”

Pennington was not available for comment.

Les Boggs, who is now the county’s clerk of courts, will move upstairs to the third floor of the courthouse and a seat on the commission.

Boggs collected 14,062 votes or 54.30 percent of the ballots cast to Democrat Tanner Heaberlin’s 11,837 votes.

Boggs touted his business experience during his campaign. He said he thought this resonated with the voters.

“I feel they understood I have business experience and I was the only with a concrete plan. I think people knew I was going to be willing to spend the time to get the job done,” Boggs said late Tuesday night.

Boggs said he and fellow Republican, Jason Stephens, have “a lot of work to do” in the coming four years.

Heaberlin, of Ironton, was appointed last summer to fill the unexpired term of the late George Patterson, the long-serving Democrat who died in office. A history teacher at Rock Hill High School. He was not available for comment Tuesday night.