Tebow finalist for Maxwell

Published 1:47 am Tuesday, November 25, 2008

Tim Tebow will get a chance to repeat as winner of the Maxwell Award, given to college football’s top player.

The Florida quarterback was one of three finalists announced Monday, along with QBs Graham Harrell of Texas Tech and Colt McCoy of Texas.

The Maxwell and eight other college football awards will be presented Dec. 11 on ESPN.

Email newsletter signup

Harrell and McCoy — along with Oklahoma’s Sam Bradford — also are up for the Davey O’Brien, awarded to the top quarterback.

Linebackers Rey Maualuga of Southern California and James Laurinaitis of Ohio State and defensive end Aaron Maybin of Penn State are finalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award for best defensive player.