Rocky Top Raceway honors drivers at awards banquet

Published 1:57 am Tuesday, March 3, 2009

ASHLAND, Ky. — As the start of the 2009 racing season comes closer, the Rocky Top Raceway took some time out on Saturday to honor the drivers and sponsors who helped make the 2008 season such a success.

The top three drivers in 2008 point standings for each class along with all race and division sponsors were honored at the Rocky Top Raceway “Banquet of Champions.”

In the Late Model division, Grayson, Kentucky driver Jackie Boggs was honored for his first RTR track championship. Boggs collected a total of eight wins, eleven top five, and eleven top 10 finishes on the season.

Email newsletter signup

Willard, Ky., driver Terry Hicks was honored for second place in 2008 Late Model points with eight top fives and 11 top 10 while Ironton’s Joe Ramey was honored for third place with four top fives and 10 top 10s.

South Point driver Todd Robinson won his third RTR Modified track championship in a row and fourth of his career. Robinson won eight races and picked up nine top fives and nine top 10s on the year.

“Racin” Jason Perry finished second in Modified points with one win, seven top fives, and eight top 10s while Adam Jordan finished third with two wins, five top fives, and eight top 10s.

Wayne Hughes was honored for his second track championship in a row in the Bomber division. The Vanceburg,, Ky., driver collected seven wins, eight top fives, and 10 top 10s during the 2008 campaign.

John Rayburn was honored for finishing second in Bomber points with seven top fives and 10 top 10s while Pedro driver David Dunn finished third with one win, eight top fives, and 11 top 10s.

Chris Stone in his first year of racing picked up the inaugural RTR Mod Lite track championship. Stone won five features and picked up 10 top fives and 12 top 10s on the season.

Ironton’s Tony Sites finished second in Mod Lite points with two wins, nine top fives, and 13 top 10s while Chillicothe driver Jerry Cushing finished third with nine top fives and 12 top 10s.

The 2008 race and division sponsors honored included Les Boggs, Carl Grover of Engines Inc., Nelson Smith of Tri-America Contractors, George Caldwell of GCP Engines, Kevin Graham of Tomahawk Race Cars, and Rick Christian of Terminix.

The 2009 season is set to get underway at Rocky Top Raceway on Saturday, March 28th with “Test N Tune,” a day where the track is open for drivers to get in a testing session.

The season is scheduled to officially get underway on Friday, April 3rd with the “Opening Night” races featuring Late Models-$2,000 to win, Modifieds-$650 to win, Bombers-$350 to win, and Mod Lites-$200 to win.

To view the complete 2009 RTR schedule you can visit the tracks official website at