Lady Fighting Tigers bounce back with win

Published 4:15 am Friday, April 3, 2009

COAL GROVE — Mercy, mercy me.

A day after losing by the mercy rule, the Ironton Lady Fighting Tigers came back to beat the Coal Grove Lady Hornets 13-2 in five innings on Thursday.

“We were a different ball club tonight,” said Ironton coach Missy Fields.

Email newsletter signup

“We went from seven errors last night to zero tonight and four hits last night to 14 tonight. I was proud of the way they bounced back from the defeat as well as they did.”

Karlie Collins gave up just four hits, struck out seven and walked three to get the win for Ironton (1-1). Collins and Nikki Elswick led the offense as they each went 3-4. Janie Morris and Alex Taylor were 2-4 while Kylie Summers, Brea Tackett and Emily Lilly each had a hit.

Abby Nance and Keesha Wyatt were 2-4 to lead Coal Grove.

Ironton was on the other end of a mercy rule on Wednesday in a 17-4 Southeastern Ohio Athletic League loss at Gallipolis.

The Lady Tigers, who were guilty of seven errors, managed to get hits from Tackett, Lilly, Taylor and Jordan Scott.

“I think it was kind of a combination of first game jitters and errors from the get go,” said Fields.

“Everyone on their team is a hitter. They are a very impressive ball club. Amy Noe is a veteran on the mound and it really shows.”

Ironton plays at Portsmouth on Friday.

Ironton 113 17 = 13 14 0

Coal Grove 010 01 = 2 4 4

Karlie Collins and Emily Lilly. Brown, Little (5) and Yeley. W-Collins (7-K, 3-BB). L-Brown (1-K, 3-BB). Hitting-Ironton: Brea Tackett 2-4, Emily Lilly 1-4, Janie Morris 2-4, Karlie Collins 3-4, Alex Taylor 2-4, Nikki Elswick 3-4, Kylie Summers 1-1; Coal Grove: Abby Nance 2-2, Keesha Wyatt 2-3.

Wednesday’s Game

Ironton 001 30 = 4 4 7

Gallipolis (10)70 0x = 17 14 1

Kylie Summers, Karlie Collins (3) and Emily Lilly. Amy Noe and M. Lankam. W-Noe (7-K, 2-BB). L-Summers (0-K,1-B). Collins 1-K, 0-BB. Hitting-Ironton: Brea Tackett 1-3, Emily Lilly 1-2, Alex Taylor 1-1, Jordan Scott 1-2; Gallipolis: Campbell 1-2, Davis 3-4, Shriver 3-3, Noe 2-4, Saunders 2-3, Mays 2-2.