OUS seeking applicants for Choose Appalachian Teaching Scholarship

Published 11:25 pm Saturday, June 13, 2009

Future Incoming freshman and current sophomores attending Ohio University Southern this fall planning to teach math or science in grades 7-12 are encouraged to apply for the Choose Appalachian Teaching (CAT) Scholarship.

“We encourage future math and science teachers to access the application now in order to provide the necessary information to meet the deadline,” says Jacki Adkins, Scholarship Coordinator at Ohio University Southern. “The CAT scholarship offers much needed financial assistance to our students and we are pleased that Ohio University Southern is a partner.”

The deadline to apply is June 30.

Email newsletter signup

The $2,000 scholarship is for Ohio residents attending Ohio University Southern. CAT scholarships for students attending Ohio University in Athens will be in the amount of $4,000 per year.

To apply for the scholarship, students must complete the application and mail before the June 30 deadline. The application can be accessed online at http://www.coe.ohiou.edu/gfx/media/pdf/CATapplication.pdf or picked up at student services in Ironton or Proctorville.

As a regional campus of Ohio University, OUS is part of the collaborative effort to recruit talented math and science teachers in southern Ohio. The Ohio Board of Regents allocated $1 million toward this project.

There will be two main CAT Scholar cohorts — one beginning in Fall 2009 and the second beginning in Fall 2010. The project seeks to produce 80 additional high school math and science teachers for Southeastern Ohio, an area that now faces a critical teacher shortage.

Who is eligible? Students seeking Adolescent-to-Young-Adult (AYA) (Grades 7-12) mathematics or science teacher licensure — as well as Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) majors at OU regional campuses who intend to seek AYA mathematics and science teaching licensure.

Applicants must be willing after graduation and licensure to engage in a 3-year professional induction program in Appalachian Ohio.

Possible majors include Integrated Mathematics, Integrated Science, Physical Science, Life Science, and Earth and Space Science.

Students enrolled in early childhood, middle childhood, K-12 teacher preparation programs, or endorsement programs are not eligible. Applicant must reside in one of the following counties to be eligible: Adams, Athens, Belmont, Brown, Carroll, Clermont, Columbiana, Coshocton, Gallia, Guernsey, Harrison, Highland, Hocking, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Lawrence, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Pike, Ross, Scioto, Tuscarawas, Vinton, and Washington counties.

For more information, contact Mary Harmison at (740) 597-3164 or e-mail her at harmisonm@gmail.com.