Team effort gives Chesapeake OVC golf championship

Published 2:13 am Tuesday, September 29, 2009

GALLIPOLIS — If you want to know why the Chesapeake Panthers won the Ohio Valley Conference golf championship, there are five good reasons.

Roger Hoback, Nick Duffield, Seth Waggoner, Gunner Hill and Seth Ransbottom.

All five golfers play for the Panthers and all five were among the top seven players to earn All-OVC honors as Chesapeake won the league title by 51 strokes Friday at Cliffside Coutnry Club.

Email newsletter signup

Chesapeake finished with a 352 team score while the Fairland Dragons were second at 403. River Valley had a 427 total to place third followed by South Point at 435 and Rock Hill had a 444 score.

Hoback earned conference medalist honors with the low score of 86. Duffield was one shot back at 87, Waggoner shot an 89, Hill carded a 90 and Ransbottom finished with a 98.

Finishing fifth individually was Wyatt Hall of South Point with a 96 and Fairland’s Ryan Wooten shot a 98 to take seventh place as the two golfers rounded out the all-conference team.

Ohio Valley Conference

2009 Golf Championships

Team Results

1. CHESAPEAKE (352): Roger Hoback 86, Nick Duffield 87, Seth Waggoner 89, Gunner Hill 90, Seth Ransbottom 98, Nathan Copley 99.

2. FAIRLAND (403): Ryan Wooten 98, Dalton Froelich 100, Jared Boster 102, Kyle Riley 103, Alex Earl 111, Patrick McCoy 122.

3. RIVER VALLEY (427): Kyle Bryant 104, Matt Ball 105, Chris Goodrich 106, Cody Smith 112, Dan Goodrich 116, Derek Gibson 118.

4. SOUTH POINT (435): Wyatt Hall 96, Callie Taylor 103, Zac Taylor 106, Tyler Gregory 130.

5. ROCK HILL (444): Clint Barnard 102, Joe Yaniko 102, John Schob 117, Drew Kidd 123, Heath Markel 126, Justin Crank 151.

All-Ohio Valley Conference Team

Roger Hoback, Chesapeake 86

Nick Duffield, Chesapeake 87

Seth Waggoner, Chesapeake 89

Gunner Hill, Chesapeake 90

Wyatt Hall, South Point 96

Seth Ransbottom, Chesapeake 98

Ryan Wooten, Fairland 98

MEDALIST: Roger Hoback, Chesapeake