Write-in rounds out ballot for Chesy council

Published 11:07 pm Saturday, October 17, 2009

CHESAPEAKE — As long as the name is spelled right and the oval on the paper ballot filled in, there will be a new face on the Chesapeake Village Council.

That’s all Scott Taylor, the only write-in on the ballot, has to do come Election Day to win. That’s because there are only four spots up on council and the same number wanting the jobs.

Coming back will be Richard McMaster, going for his second term; Paul E. Hart with close to 30 years on council; and Richard Stover trying for his fourth term.

Email newsletter signup

Taylor will take the place of veteran councilman Kenneth Wolfe, who is running for Chesapeake School Board this time.

Hart, a real estate developer, will focus his next term on a village cleanup and a possible expansion of Rockwood Avenue.

“We need to have a major cleanup. People either need to tear (dilapidated houses) down or paint them or clean them up,” he said. “We are looking at three or four lanes on Rockwood similar to what Proctorville did. That would be a lot less expensive than the bypass.”

Stover, a health care worker, wants to see more business come into the village as well as expanding the fledgling Neighborhood Watch program and providing more options for senior citizens.

“We had a lot of senior citizens come (to the first Watch meeting),” Stover said. “That really impressed me that they would come and voice their opinions. I want them to feel safe in their own neighborhood.

“I think we do a lot with the new administration with the mayor. I think he is doing a wonderful job with getting everyone to work together. We may not always agree, but he wants to hear our ideas.”

McMaster says the overall future of Chesapeake is what has motivated him to run for another term.

“I believe we are doing good with the council that we have,” he said. “We get along well and work well for the benefit of the village.

Calls made to Scott Taylor were not returned by press time.

The four will join on council Joseph Bevans and Paul Nathan Hart, whose terms are not up this year.