Ironton trio, Kerns earn SE coaches all-district honors

Published 12:59 am Sunday, November 1, 2009

Even in the clubhouse the Ironton Fighting Tigers golf team is having success.

After an impressive season that ended with a state tournament appearance, Ironton landed two players on the first team, one honorable mention and a coach of the year in voting conducted by the Southeast Ohio Golf Coaches Association.

Junior Andy Holtzapfel and sophomore Josh Zornes were first team all-district while junior Jonathan Williams was honorable mention. Jeff Kerns was the district Coach of the Year for the second straight season.

Email newsletter signup

The all-district selections were the second straight for Holtzapfel and Zornes. Holtzapfel was second team last season and Zornes was honorable mention.

“Those are some pretty good accomplishments and they did a lot of them against bigger schools,” said Kerns.

“I told them at the beginning of the year we’re all going to have to step it up and we did that.”

Williams was the surprise of the team as he went from sixth man to making first team All-SEOAL. He tied four fourth place in the sectional tournament.

“I feel satisfied with (the award). I didn’t expect it. I played well at certain times. I just happened to play well on the right days,” said Williams.

“He played the three-man most of the year. He played pretty well all year,” Kerns said of Williams.

While Williams was a surprise, Holtzapfel did what was expected.

“Andy had more experience as far as tournament golf. He’s had a pretty good year,” said Kerns.

Holtzapfel was medalist in five tournaments this season and was first team All-SEOAL for the third straight year.

“I felt I could have played better, but I’m happy with all I got,” said Holtzapfel. “I could have got more medalist, but I played better in 18-hole tournaments.

“I wantto win the state. This year we all got experience. We can all finish on a good note (next year).”

Zornes started the year as medalist to lead Ironton to a win in its own invitational. He tied for fourth place as Ironton won its second straight sectional and was medalist in five different tournaments.

“I worked hard on my game. The hard work in the summer paid off and playing in tournaments,” said Zornes.

“I didn’t expect (first team all-district). I’m happy to get the award. I’m not happy we only got 10th at the state. I can’t wait until next year.”

Ironton’s top six golfers had average scores between 39 to 41.5 strokes per nine holes.

“There’s not a lot of separation between them,” said Kerns. “Any one of them could have been all-district.”

Kerns — who guided Ironton to a 96-16 record and a district runner-up — thanked his players for the coaching award.

“I can’t win an award like this without good players,” said Kerns. “I’m honored by it and I’m humbled by it because it’s voted on by the other coaches in Southeast Ohio.”

The Ironton coach added that winning the award has served as motivation for next year.

“I want these guys to have the opportunity to win the state. That’s a goal for us,” said Kerns.

Jackson’s Morgan Dobbins was the Player of the Year. Ironton’s Nathan Kerns, now playing at Marshall, won the honor last year.

Chesapeake freshman Nick Duffield was a second team selection and Fairland’s Dalton Froelich was honorable mention in Division II.


SE Ohio Golf Coaches


First Team

Player (School) Gr.

Morgan Dobbins, Jackson – POY 12

Corey Richmond, West Union 12

Tanner Huntley, West Union 10

Blaine Hardin, Logan Elm 12

Josh Zornes, Ironton 10

Andy Holtzapfel, Ironton 11

Second Team

J.T. Bunnor, McClain 10

Nick Duffield, Chesapeake 9

Drew Davis, Zane Trace 12

Nick Saunders, Gallia Academy 10

Derek Greenlee, Logan Elm 11

Jordan Long, Zane Trace 12

Honorable Mention

Nathan Cline, Westfall 12

Jeff Baker-Hester, McClain 12

Ryan Hawks, Waverly 10

Evan Sommer, Portsmouth 11

Jon Williams, Ironton 11

Corey Hamilton, Galia Academy 12

Tyler Andrews, Meigs 12

Ben Davis, Southeastern 10

Jacob Harley, New Lexington 10

Tyler Woodrow, Miami Trace 12

Britt Rothwell, North Adams 12

Dylan Newsom, Jackson 12

Mike Hackney, Vinton County

Nathan Kern, Circleville 10

Blake Downard, Wellston

Brandon Hemming, Logan Elm 10

Robbie Pell West, Union 11

Joe Speakman, Zane Trace 12

Dalton Froelich, Fairland 12

Drew Nichols, Unioto 11

Coach of the Year

Jeff Kerns, Ironton