CG council elects three new members

Published 2:53 am Wednesday, November 4, 2009

COAL GROVE — A trio of new members will join an incumbent in taking their seats on the Coal Grove Village Council in 2010, according to unofficial results from the Lawrence County Board of Elections.

Voters in the village retained incumbent Aaron Stewart for another four years while electing Juelda Collins, Bob Self and Glen Markins to the three additional seats.

Each seat carries a four-year term.

Email newsletter signup

Incumbent Chris Brammer was defeated in his re-election bid with hopefuls Kyle McKnight and Phil Roush also coming up short.

Current council members Larry Carpenter and Joe Ross did not seek re-election.

According to unofficial results, Collins led the ticket with 475 votes with Markins gathering 407 votes. Stewart grabbed 393 votes and Self ended up with 355 votes. McKnight finished fifth with 277 votes followed by Brammer at 271 and Roush with 258.

Collins, who works for Scherer Mountain Insurance in Ironton, said leading the ticket was “amazing.”

“I’m so totally excited. It was such a great race and I enjoyed it.” Collins said. “I’m looking forward to getting involved.”

Stewart, who serves as a grant director at Shawnee State University, said he is looking forward to another four years in serving the residents of Coal Grove.

“It was a good race with a very well qualified group of people. I’m happy to win and excited to work with this group that was elected,” Stewart said. “We will be able to get a lot of stuff done.”

Markins and Self, whose names appeared in many campaign promotions together, were unable to be reached on election night.

A person answering the phone at Markins’ residence said he was “out celebrating his victory”.