Dawson-Bryant voters leave school board unchanged

Published 3:26 am Wednesday, November 4, 2009

COAL GROVE — Voters in Coal Grove left the Dawson-Bryant Board of Education intact, re-electing all three incumbents to additional four-year terms.

Current members Jamie Murphy, Debra Drummond and Sadie Mulkey all watched as voters endorsed each of them for another four years.

Murphy, Drummond and Mulkey were challenged in their bid for re-election by challengers Gary Dutey, Katy Ford, Michael Nourse, Denise Paulus and Tim Stormes.

Email newsletter signup

According to unofficial results, Murphy garnered 792 votes with Drummond capturing 733 votes and Mulkey grabbing 670 votes. Dutey unofficially finished with 647 votes, while Ford ended up with 586 votes, Paulus 555 votes, Nourse 442 votes and Stormes 276 votes.

Murphy, who serves as a social worker, said her re-election allows her to continue serving the district.

“I’m glad its over and am very pleased with the results,” Murphy said. “I’m looking forward to four more years.”

Mulkey echoed similar sentiments.

“I am pleased that the voters gave me another opportunity to serve the district for an additional four years,” Mulkey said.

Drummond did not return calls left at her home and on her cell phone.

The re-election of Murphy, Drummond and Mulkey comes following a roller coaster two weeks for the Dawson-Bryant Board of Education.

On Oct. 22, Murphy, Drummond and current board member Deanna Holliday voted to extend current superintendent Dennis DeCamp’s contract an additional three years following an evaluation questioned and objected by Mulkey and the board’s fifth member Jim Beals.

DeCamp had been on a 16-month contract that was set to expire in March 2010.