Nine apply for SV superintendent post

Published 9:43 am Wednesday, November 25, 2009

AID TOWNSHIP—The Symmes Valley Board of Education — both current and soon-to-be members — will discuss the nine candidates for superintendent at a special meeting Dec. 7.

The deadline for submitting a resume to replace the retiring Tom Ben was Friday.

The nine people are: Linda Henderson, federal programs coordinator for East Liverpool schools; Eric Holmes, special education director for Dawson-Bryant schools; James Howard, principal at Lawrence County Joint Vocation School; Matthew McCorckle, principal at Wheelersburg High School; William Madden, assistant director of Scioto County Joint Vocational School; Annette Massie, elementary principal at Ironton Elementary; Sandra Mers, assistant superintendent for South Point schools; Ken Ratliff, administrative assistant for Fairland schools; and Jeff Saunders, principal at Symmes Valley High School.

Email newsletter signup

Board President Wayne Taylor said he was pleased with the response the district has gotten from people interested in the job.

“Many of the people came from the county but we did get one from as far away as East Liverpool,” he said.

The selection process will include both sitting board members Taylor, John Kelley, Brian Pancake, Kim Turner and Mike Wall and the three people who were elected earlier this month and will join the board Jan. 1: Hope Rowe, Tom Shepherd and Chris Thompson.

Taylor, Kelley and Pancake opted not to seek re-election.

Ben, who has been superintendent since 1993, will retire effective Dec. 31.