• 75°

Coal Grove, Collins Career levies on May ballot

The deadline to file to run for office in the May primary was 4 p.m. Thursday. Two levies will greet voters when they go to the polls. The two countywide offices contested have attracted a total of five candidates.

The village of Coal Grove will try again to pass a one-mil operational levy.

The levy has failed at least twice since November 2008. Mayor Larry McDaniel said the levy brings in approximately $20,000 a year for street lights, police and fire protection.

“We still have some money in that fund,” McDaniel said. “When that runs out we may have to turn off the lights.”

Collins Career Center has a half-mil replacement levy on the ballot.

In the auditor’s race, Democrat Stephen Dale Burcham, the county’s incumbent treasurer, is seeking his party’s nomination while Republican Jason Stephens, an incumbent county commissioner, is seeking his party’s nomination;. Both are unopposed in the primary but a third man, Independent candidate John Ater has picked up a petition to run for that office as well.

Ater has until 4 p.m. May 3 to file his petition because of his party status.

In the county commission race, two of three Democrats who picked up petitions ended up filing the necessary documents to run in the May primary, incumbent Doug Malone and Justin Berry.

Former Ironton city councilman and former school board member Bob Vaughn picked up a petition but did not file it.

On the GOP side, Paul Herrell will run unopposed for his party’s nomination. Fellow Republican Gene Cox picked up a petition but in the end did not file it.

In the 89th Ohio house race, Republican Terry Johnson, of McDermott is running unopposed in the May primary, but two Democrats are seeking their party’s nomination, Portsmouth businessman Ronald Hadsell and incumbent Scioto County Commissioner Mike Crabtree, of Lucasville.

An Ironton man has filed to run as a member of the Green party. He is Dennis Lambert.

In the 87th Ohio House race, the Democrat, Clay Baker, of Patriot and Republican, John Carey, the incumbent 17th District state senator, are running unopposed in their respective primaries.

In the 17th State Senate District, Democrat, Justin Fallon, of Patriot, is running unopposed. Republican Clyde Evans, of Rio Grande faces David Daniels, of Greenfield, in the GOP primary for that seat.

In the U.S. Sixth Congressional District race, incumbent Democrat Charlie Wilson of St. Clairsville faces opposition from fellow Democrat Jim Renner of N. Benton. There are four Republicans seeking their party’s nomination for that post: Donald Allen of Youngstown, Samuel A. Hepfner of Salem, Richard D. Stobbs of Dillonvale and Bill Johnson of Poland.

There are two Libertarians seeking their party’s nomination for the congressional seat: Cory McCusker of Poland and Martin J. Alfaff of Columbiana.