Area gardeners meet for spring regional

Published 9:31 am Monday, April 26, 2010

PORTSMOUTH — Nick Gampp, of the art department of Shawnee State University was the featured designer/humorist, with a program entitled “Spring Green” for the Ohio Association of Garden Clubs’ Region 10 meeting on April 15, at the Portsmouth Welcome Center.

Gardeners from District 10, which includes the following counties: Lawrence, Scioto, Adams, and Pike watch as Gampp constructed six spring arrangements that included fresh and potted flowers.

The designs were auctioned, so attendees were not only able to receive great ideas for duplicating the designs, but some were able to take them home as well.

Email newsletter signup

The meeting began at 9 a.m. and hosting the meeting was Region 10 Board of Directors.

The Welcome Center was decorated with multi-colored watering cans full of green plants, provided by the Portsmouth Garden Club.

Early morning refreshments, for approximately 80 representing 13 clubs from the region, were provided by the Lucasville Garden Club. Agenda programs were produced by the Waverly Garden Club.

During the registration hour a spring flower show was assembled.

Judging for the show was provided by Beverly Norman an accredited OAGC judge, with assistance from Diane Reese, student judge.

The show had 20 design entries, 30 junior entries, and 54 horticulture specimens.

Two retail florists, Classic Designs, Lucasville and Boulevard Bouquets, Portsmouth also exhibited designs.

Blue ribbon winners were:

“A Stitch in Time” a miniature design and

“Save Energy, Save Money” a small design — Judy Kegley, Waverly Garden Club

“Clean Streams” an oriental design — Anna Cardenas, Green Triangle Garden Club

“Tree Hugger” all foliage design — Donna Chabot, Portsmouth Garden Club

“Clear Skies” a transparency design and Best of Show — Carolyn Wilcox, Minford Garden Club

Award of Distinction won by Norm McGinnis, Double Delight Garden Club

Best of Show for the Horticulture Show was won by Melanie Karr, Portsmouth Garden Club

Other Horticulture Winners were: Jean Moore, Sharon Penn, Rosemary Montavon, Sharon Gillum,

Bonnie Vaughn and Dona Cabot. Junior Blue Ribbon Winner was Kiara Lucas.

Anna Cardenas, Region 10 Director chaired a morning business meeting, with reports from various regional officers and reports from OAGC State Officers.

OAGC State officers attending were Sharon Ware, OAGC State V.P., Fairfield, Ohio; Stephanie Patrick, OAGC Sales Secretary. Circleville, and Janet Evans, State OAGC Foundation Secretary, Portsmouth.

Lunch was catered by Sodexo, Shawnee State University.

The Region 10 Fall meeting is scheduled for Oct. 15, at Grace UM Church with Waverly and Prime Thyme Garden Clubs as hosts.