Lookin At Lucky wins Preakness

Published 11:05 pm Saturday, May 15, 2010

BALTIMORE — Lookin at Lucky won the Preakness, ending Super Saver’s bid to become the first Triple Crown winner in 32 years.

Lookin At Lucky moved into contention in the final turn and sprinted to the finish ahead of First Dude by three-quarters of a length. His victory Saturday means the sport will have to wait at least another year for its first Triple Crown winner since Affirmed in 1978.

Jackson Bend was third and Yawanna Twist was fourth.

Email newsletter signup

Super Saver won the Kentucky Derby by 2 1/2 lengths with Calvin Borel in the saddle and riding the rail. This time, Borel was back aboard the 3-year-old bay colt, but didn’t get to the rail — his signature trip.

Super Saver finished eighth, only the second time in eight career races that he failed to finish in the money.

Lookin At Lucky was favored in the Derby, but finished sixth on a sloppy track. The horse was ridden by Martin Garcia, who replaced Garrett Gomez after Lucky’s disappointing Derby run.

Lookin At Lucky paid $6.80, $4.60 and $3.80. The winning time was 1:55.47 over 1 3/16 miles.

First Dude returned $16.60 and $9.20, and Jackson Bend paid $6.60.

Dublin finished fifth, ahead of Paddy O’Prado and Caracortado. Then came Super Saver, followed by Schoolyard Dreams, Aikenite, Pleasant Prince and Northern Giant.

It was the ninth Triple Crown win for trainer Bob Baffert and his fifth Preakness win, tied for second place with D. Wayne Lukas.

Gomez was aboard Lukas’ Dublin, who broke poorly from the 12th post and was not a factor.