Dems, GOP elect new officers

Published 12:00 am Sunday, June 13, 2010

Lawrence County’s Republican and Democratic parties met last week and elected officers.

On Thursday, the Republican Party elected Harriett Scragg chairwoman of the central committee, along with Brigham Anderson, vice-chairman, Kim Estep, secretary and Mary Wipert, treasurer.

The central committee generally cedes its authority to the executive committee.

Email newsletter signup

Ray T. Dutey was elected chairman of the executive committee, along with Jason Stephens, vice chair.

Estep and Wipert will serve the executive committee as secretary and treasurer, respectively. Dr. Burton Payne was elected parliamentarian.

On Wednesday, the Democratic Party elected Craig Allen as chairman of the central and executive committees. Don Simmons was elected vice-chair, Mark McCown secretary and Kathy Doughman, treasurer.