McGuire, Montgomery, Adams, Fritter win GCP Engines race

Published 10:01 pm Wednesday, June 23, 2010

COAL GROVE — The GCP Engines Showdown at Rocky Top Raceway on June 18 featured special event races for all four of the tracks weekly divisions.

The track was in near perfect shape as drivers ran times near the track record all night long.

Josh McGuire took the lead to start the nights 40 lap, $4,000 to win Late Model A-Main.

Email newsletter signup

With McGuire pulling out to a strong lead, the best racing all night long was for the second position between Greggie Oliver, Tim Dohm, and Jackie Boggs and Rod Conley before those two drivers experienced mechanical problems. McGuire would go on to lead all 40 laps and take the $4,000 to win with Tim Dohm finishing second by inches over Greggie Oliver in third, Shannon Thornsberry fourth, and Jason Montgomery fifth. Tim Dohm, Josh McGuire, and Zack Dohm won heat races.

Drama came early on in the night’s 30 lap, $2,000 to win AMRA Modified A-Main. On the opening lap, fourth place starter Bo Cox spun in front of the field and collected several cars with Cox, Joe Hamon, and Davey Warnock both unable to continue with extensive damage.

On the second attempt to start the race, polesitter Eddie Harmon sustained a flat tire and spun in front of the field collecting a couple of cars.

After four attempts, the race finally got underway with Doug “The Buzzard” Adkins leading.

With Adkins leading, the man on the move early on was sixth place starter Jason Montgomery as he moved into the second position.

On lap eight, Montgomery caught Adkins as the two battled side by side for the lead! Montgomery would make the pass as Adkins slowed a lap later with a flat tire.

From there, Montgomery dominated to claim the $2,000 win over Rick Hensley in second, Luke Jordan in third, Adam Jordan in fourth, and Craig Christian in fifth. Eddie Harmon won the dash race while Adam Colley and Davey Warnock won heat races.

Polesitter Tom Hall took the lead at the start of the $1,000 to win Bomber A-Main. With Hall leading, the battle early on was for the second position between Richard Trego and Jamie Adams. Adams moved into second on lap six and caught Hall to battle side by side for the lead! After a couple laps of side by side racing, Adams made the pass to take the lead. Hall stayed close to Adams for the remainder of the race, but was unable to make the pass as Adams came to the checkers to claim the big win. Hall finished second with Lee Neil third, Bruce Gray Jr. fourth, and John Powell Jr. fifth. Hall and Trego won heat races.

Tracy Fritter took the lead to start the 20 lap Mod Lite A-Main with Tony Sites moving up to second. As the race moved on, Sites began to real in Fritter and was right on his rear bumper with four laps to go! As the field came to the two lap to go signal, Sites looked under Fritter as the two battled side by side for the lead! The two remained side by side until Sites bobbled off of two coming to the white flag. That would allow Fritter to pull away by a few car lengths and take the $500 win! Sites finished second with Aaron Pendleton third, Randy Armes fourth, and Mark Noel fifth. Fritter and Noel won heat races.

Rocky Top Raceway will be in action next on Friday, June 25th with “Kings Daughters Medical Transport Night” featuring Late Models, AMRA Modifieds, a $500 to win 4 cylinder special, and the “Rocky Top 100”, 100 lap Enduro at the end of the night. General admission is $12 with kids (7-12) general admission $2, kids six and under free, and pit passes $25. For more information visit