Duncan captures ‘Gene Comstock Memorial’ race at RTR

Published 1:50 am Wednesday, July 21, 2010

COAL GROVE — It was a record-breaking night at Rocky Top Raceway on Friday, July 16th for the “Gene Comstock Memorial” presented by EA Home Supply.

Cole Duncan — an 18-year-old 410 Sprint Car driver — set a new track record in time trials with a lap time of 12.080 with an average speed of 111.75 mph. Drivers from Ohio, Kentucky, West Virginia, Pennsylvania, and Australia were in the pit area.

Alec Martin, a 17-year-old driver, took the lead to start the Comstock Memorial 410 Sprint Car A-Main.

Email newsletter signup

Martin carried the lead into turn three on the opening lap until he bicycled over the cushion and nearly flipped his No. 39 machine. That allowed Ironton driver Aaron Fry to take the lead and lead the first lap. Fry led the opening two laps until Australia driver Trevor Green passed him on the high side to lead lap three.

Two laps later, Green would slow with a broken rear end.

That allowed Fry to resume the lead as the race restarted on lap five. Second place runner Cole Duncan put his No. 22 machine on the high side and challenge Fry for the lead the following lap.

Duncan went around Fry on the high side and was gone from there as he came across the checkers to win the first “Gene Comstock Memorial presented by EA Home Supply”. Bryce Dickson finished second with Jon Webb third, Aaron Fry fourth, and Rick Fraley fifth. Duncan and Green won heat races.

Randy Meador and Jacob Curnutte battled side by side for the lead to start the nights Steel Block Late Model feature. Curnutte pushed high in turns three and four allowing Meador to get under him and lead the opening lap. The two continued to battle side by side for the next few laps until Jason Perry would get by Curnutte and move into the second position.

While running in second, Perry would get a good restart and battle side by side for the lead with Meador. Perry made the pass as the field completed lap six and hw never looked back from there to claim the feature win.

Perry, a three-time winner in the AMRA Modified division, became one of only three drivers to win in multiple divisions at RTR.

Meador finished second with Evan Terry third, Kenny Newhouse fourth, and Kirk Phillips fifth. Meador won the dash race while Evan Terry won the heat race.

Pole-sitter Doug Adkins took the lead at the start of the “Up Front Motorsports 25” AMRA Modified A-Main. Adkins appeared destined for victory until lap 15 when troubles getting around a lapped car resulted in him dropping back to the third position. That left the lead to David McWilliams with Dave Jamison in second and Adkins back to third when the race restarted.

On the restart, Adkins put his No. 7 machine on the high side and after a few laps of side by side racing moved into the second position. Adkins would catch McWilliams with five laps to go as the two battled side by side for the lead.

Adkins made the pass for the lead with two laps to go but McWilliams remained right on his bumper. On the last lap with Adkins up high and McWilliams down low, the two battled side by side for the win off of turn two.

The two remained side by side down the backstretch and would make slight contact battling side by side in turn three.

Adkins used high side momentum to get the run off turn four and take his third feature win of the season. McWilliams finished second by a car length with Dave Jamison third, Adam Jordan fourth, and Luke Jordan fifth. Adkins won the dash race while Eric Hatfield and Will Fry won heat races.

The Mod Lite A-Main was just as exciting as the other features as Tony Sites took the lead to start it.

Sites looked to be the car to beat until the races closing laps when Levi Spinneweber made a charge to the front.

Running the high side, Spinneweber moved from fourth to first in half of lap to take the lead with two laps to go. Spinneweber would hold on to take the win with Mark Noel finished second, Sites dropping back to third, Harold Kuhn fourth, and Aaron Pendleton fifth. Sites and Spinneweber won heat races.

Coming to Rocky Top next Friday will be night one of the “Ohio Mod Lite Nationals” featuring a $1,000 to win Mod Lite show. Late Models and AMRA Modifieds will also be racing.

General admission is only $12 with kids (ages 7-12) general admission $2 and pit passes $25. Gates open at 4 p.m. with Hot Laps at 7:30. For more information visit www.rockytopraceway.net