Boggs claims Ohio Mod Lite

Published 1:29 am Thursday, July 29, 2010

COAL GROVE — Cars from Ohio, Kentucky, West Virginia, Illinois, Pennsylvania, and Indiana invaded the Rocky Top Raceway last Friday for the “Ohio Mod Lite Nationals.”

A great car count was on hand with 19 Late Models, 21 AMRA Modifieds, and 26 Mod Lites.

Derick Fisher and Jackie Boggs battled side by side for the lead to start the nights Late Model A-Main. The two had a tremendous side-by-side battle with Fisher riding the cushion and Boggs down low.

Email newsletter signup

Both drivers never gave an inch as they battled side-by-side for the lead for the races first 14 laps with high-side momentum keeping Fisher in the lead.

On lap 15, Boggs threw a hard slide job on Fisher off of turn two and made the pass to take the lead and pull away from there to take his first RTR win of 2010.

Greggie Oliver finished second with Fisher third, Shannon Thornsberry fourth, and Jason Perry fifth. Fisher won the dash race while Perry and John Melvin won heat races.

Five-time RTR track champion Todd Robinson took the lead to start the AMRA Modified A-Main with Dave Jamison right on his bumper. The two stayed that way for most of the race as Robinson maintained a two-car length lead.

Disaster struck on lap 14 when Davey Warnock took a nasty flip as the field tried to slow up when third place runner Shawn Holliday broke. Thankfully, Warnock was okay.

When the race resumed, nobody had anything for Robinson as he came across the checkers to claim his first RTR win of the season. Jamison finished second with Danny Ferguson third, Craig Christian fourth, and Luke Jordan fifth.

Robinson won the dash while Jordan and Warnock won heat races.

Brandon Flubarly took the lead to start the Ohio Mod Lite Nationals Mod Lite A-Main with Tracy Fritter quickly moving into the second position.

Fritter stayed right on the bumper of Flubarly for several laps until he pulled a slide job in turns three and four to take the lead on lap seven.

Flubarly stayed close to Fritter the remainder of the race, but wouldn’t have enough as Fritter came across the checkers to take the $1,000 win.

Flubarly finished second with Levi Spinneweber third, Mikey Hay fourth, and Mark Marcucci fifth. Flubarly, Fritter, and Tony Sites won heat races.

Next on the schedule at Rocky Top Raceway will be Fan Appreciation Night on Friday. On the card will be Late Models, AMRA Modifieds, Bombers, and Mod Lites. There will be several giveaways and fan promotions.

General admission is $12 with kids (ages 7-12) $2, kids six and under free, and pit passes $25. Gates open at 4 p.m. with hot laps at 7:30.

For more information visit