Stinson claims first place in OVSCA Sprint Car race

Published 12:09 pm Wednesday, August 11, 2010

COAL GROVE —For the first time ever the Rocky Top Raceway welcomed the stars and cars of the OVSCA Sprint Car series last Friday.

A great field of cars and a great crowd was on hand for race twenty-one of the 2010 OVSCA tour.

In the “Summer Sizzler” OVSCA Sprint Car A-Main, legendary driver Charlie Fisher took the lead at the start. Fisher led the races first seven laps until 16-year-old driver Kory Crabtree passed him just as the field was entering lapped traffic on lap eight. The race’s first and only caution flag flew one lap later when Andre Layfield stopped in turn four.

Email newsletter signup

When the race restarted, Crabtree continued to lead as the field jockeyed for positions from second on back. Keith Baxter passed Fisher to move into the second position and a few laps later Jimmy Stinson passed Baxter to move himself into second.

As the field began to get into lapped traffic, Stinson began to close up on Crabtree as the top five was nose to tail.

Coming to complete lap 20, Crabtree got slowed up down low by lapped traffic as Stinson never lifted on the high side and went around Crabtree to take the lead.

Baxter was able to follow Stinson through the traffic and also passed Crabtree to move into second. Nobody would be able to challenge Stinson after he took the lead though as he came across the checkers to win the “Summer Sizzler” and a $3,000 prize.

Baxter finished second with Cole Duncan third, Crabtree fourth, and Josh Davis fifth. Fisher and Crabtree won heat races.

John Melvin took the lead to start the night’s Steel Block Late Model A-Main and never looked back to claim the $1,000 win. Melvin’s car was hooked up right around the top-side of the track the whole race as he went unchallenged to take his first RTR win since 2005.

Fast qualifier Randy Meador finished second with Jason Perry third, Evan Terry fourth, and Benny Butcher fifth. Melvin won the dash race while Butcher won the heat race.

In the night’s 15 lap Bomber A-Main, Bruce Gray Jr. took the lead to start and dominated to claim his second feature win on the year.

Gray’s No. 99g was fast anywhere on the track as he lapped all but the top three cars. Dale Kessel finished second with Robert Walker third, Kenny Neal fourth, and Evan Terry fifth. Gray and David Dunn won heat races.

Two time and defending track champion Chris Stone took the lead to start the nights Mod Lite A-Main and held off several challenges by Tony Sites to take his first win on the 2010 season. J. C. Wurts finished second with Sites third, Mark Noel fourth, and Harold Kuhn fifth. Stone won the heat race.

Rocky Top Raceway will be in action next on Saturday for the “Robinson’s Auto Sales and Parts Season Championships.”

On the card will be a full program of Late Models-$1,500 to win, AMRA Modifieds-$800 to win, Bombers-$350 to win, and Mod Lites-$300 to win (with 15 or more cars).

The “Season Championships” were originally scheduled for Friday night but has been re-scheduled for Saturday due to many regional tracks not racing this weekend.

Gates will open at 4 p.m. with hot laps at 7:30. General admission is $12 with kids (ages 7-12) general admission $2, kids six and under free, and pit passes $25.

It is also Emergency Workers Night, so firefighters and EMS workers will get in general admission for only $8 with proper ID. For more information visit