Panthers win OVC golf championship

Published 4:27 am Monday, September 27, 2010

FRIENDSHIP — The Chesapeake Panthers are at it again.

The Panthers easily won their third straight Ohio Valley Conference golf championship as they easily outdistanced the field in Friday’s conference tournament at Shawnee State Golf Course.

Chesapeake finished with a 330-team score while runner-up Rock Hill had a 369 total.

Email newsletter signup

The South Point Pointers were third at 417, the Fairland Dragons had a 419 total, the River Valley Raiders shot a 421 and the first-year program of the Coal Grove Hornets had a 444 score.

Medalist honors were a three-way tie as Chesapeake’s Roger Hoback and Seth Waggoner and Rock Hill’s Jarred Collins all shot an 81. The trio also earned All-OVC honors.

Six other golfers were all-conference including Chesapeake’s Nick Duffield who shot an 82 and Drew Oxley with an 86. South Point’s Callie Taylor had a 90, Chesapeake’s Andrew Saunders and Rock Hill’s Drew Kidd each carded a 93, and Coal Grove’s Connor Markins was next with a 94.

Teams will play in the sectional tournament at 9 p.m. Tuesday on the same course.

Ohio Valle Conference

Golf Tournament


Player, School Score

Roger Hoback, Chesapeake 81

Seth Waggoner, Chesapeake 81

Jarred Collins, Rock Hill 81

Nick Duffield, Chesapeake 82

Drew Oxley, Chesapeake 86

Callie Taylor, South Point 90

Andrew Saunders, Chesapeake 93

Drew Kidd, Rock Hill 93

Conor Markins, Coal Grove 94


Team Scores

Chesapeake 330: Roger Hoback 81, Seth Waggoner 81, Nick Duffield 82, Drew Oxley 86, Andrew Saunders 93, Nathan Copley 97.

Rock Hill 369: Jarred Collins 81, Drew Kidd 93, Joey Yaniko 95, Nick McGuire 100, Heath Markel 101, Jonathan Schob 102.

South Point 417: Callie Taylor 90, Wyatt Hall 97, Josh Suttles 108, Caleb Jones 122, Jordan Lynd 126, Austin Wellman 132.

Fairland 419: Alex Earl 100, Evan Salyers 105, Bailey Manns 105, Josh Goodman 110, Blaine Fuller 116.

River Valley 421: Kyle Bryant 98, Jacob Gilmore 104, Dan Goodrich 109, Matt Ball 110, Cody Smith 111, Derek Gibson 117.

Coal Grove 444: Conor Markins 94, Cody Davidson 109, Cameron Rowe 115, Justin Mullens 126, Jonathan Bollinger 128.