Pitching duo hurl no-hitter

Published 3:57 am Friday, April 1, 2011


Tribune Sports Editor

If this were the WWE, T.J. Young and Justin Mahlmeister would make a pretty good tag team.

Email newsletter signup

But they weren’t too bad as a pitching duo Thursday when they combined for a no-hitter as the St. Joseph Flyers blanked the Sciotoville East Tartans 13-0 in five innings.

Young went three innings and Mahlmeister finished up. Young fanned seven and walked two while Mahlmeister struck out two and issued one free pass.

“We went into the game with the plan to throw both of them. It’s early in the season and we wanted to get them in shape,” said Flyers’ coach Greg Bryant. “They both threw well.”

The Flyers (3-0) jumped in front with three runs in the first inning.

Payton Blair singled, stole second base, went to third on a wild pitch and scored on a sacrifice fly by Tanner Riley.

Mahlmeister doubled and courtesy runner Eli Lewis scored on Young’s base hit. Young moved up on the relay throw and came home when Cody Blackburn reached on an error.

St. Joseph erupted for seven runs in the third inning.

Levi Hopkins reached on an error wand went to third on Riley’s base hit. Riley stole second and both scored on Young’s base hit.

Blackburn, Luke McGraw, Grant Geswein, Joseph Payton, Blair and Hopkins all walked to force in four runs and a wild pitch scored the final run.

The final three runs came across in the fourth inning.

McGraw singled, Nick Roach walked and Blair drilled a two-run double. Hopkins capped the rally with an RBI single.

Blair, Riley, Young and Mahlmeister all went 2-3 as the Flyers had 10 hits.

St. Joseph hosts Maysville (Ky.) St. Patrick at 11 a.m. on Saturday.

Sciotoville 000 00 = 0 0 3

St. Joseph 307 3x = 13 10 1

Shain Siebert, Anthony Egerton (3), Justin Crager (3), Chris Rittner (4) and T.J. Taylor. T.J. Young, Justin Mahlmeister (4) and Mahlmeister, Luke McGraw (4). W-Young (K-7, BB-2). L-Siebert. 2B-St. Jospeh: Payton Blair, Justin Mahlmeister. Hitting-St. Joseph: Payton Blair 2-3, Levi Hopkins 1-3, Tanner Riley 2-3, Justin Mahlmeister 2-3, T.J. Young 2-3, Luke McGraw 1-2.