Tribune named best small paper in state

Published 10:00 am Monday, May 16, 2011

Garnering a total of 21 awards, The Tribune has again been named the best small newspaper in Ohio by the Associated Press Society of Ohio.

“We are very humbled by this honor and proud because it means that we are serving our community and our readers,” said Michael Caldwell, Tribune publisher and executive editor. “These awards are a reflection of the tremendous talents of our staff and the hard work they put in each and every day.”

Email newsletter signup

Sixty-eight daily newspapers submitted 3,087 entries in the contest.

The Tribune’s awards came while competing against more than 30 Division I newspapers with a circulation up to 7,999. The contest includes honors in categories for writing, commentary, sports, photography, graphics, newspaper design and The Tribune’s website.

“A well-designed, clean, hyper-local newspaper,” the APSO judges wrote. “Strong art, varied design and easy-to-read format gave this paper top honors.”

The Tribune also won 1st place in Best Community Service for its series that promoted the Lawrence County Young Professional’s Secret Santa project and help brighten Christmas for hundreds of youth.

“I always say that we didn’t become journalists for the awards, but this one is truly special because it recognizes the power of the press and shows that sometimes our responsibility goes beyond just reporting the news,” Caldwell said. “Veteran reporter Benita Heath deserves all the credit for this because she came up with this concept and made it a success.

“Every member of our team stood out in one way or another. This is more than just the newsroom and includes all 22 employees as well as the community for sharing their stories and opening up their lives. That is what makes these awards possible.”

The Tribune has earned more than 15 awards each year for the past six years and has been named best small newspaper four times in that span.


Newspapers with daily circulation of up to 7,999:

General Excellence: 1st – The Tribune

Best Business Writer: 3rd – Teresa Moore

Best Columnist: 2nd – Michael Caldwell

Best Editorial Writer: 2nd – Michael Caldwell

Best Graphics Artist: 1st – Kandi Thompson

Best Sports Columnist: 3rd – Jim Walker

Best Sports Writer: 2nd – Jim Walker

Best News Writer: 3rd – Teresa Moore

Best Informational Graphic: 2nd – Kandi Thompson, “Grading Academic Progress”

Best Illustration: 2nd – Kandi Thompson, “Pigskin Preview Cover”

Best General News Photo: 1st – Jessica St. James, “Wet Day at the Fair”

Best Feature Photo: 1st – Jessica St. James, “Second Thoughts”; 2nd – Jessica St. James, “Purple Skies”

Best Photo Essay: 1st – Jessica St. James, “Farewell to a Hero”

Best Community Service: 1st – Benita Heath, “Secret Santa – Season of Giving”; “

Best Special Section: 3rd – “Profile 2010”

Best Explanatory Reporting: 2nd – Teresa Moore, “Not Just Guilty or Innocent”; 3rd – Lori Kersey, “What’s on Your Water Bill?”

Best Full Page Layout: 3rd – Kandi Thompson, “Staying Active”

Best Page One Layout: 1st – The Tribune

Best Web Site: 1st – The Tribune