Panthers 2nd as team; Zornes advances

Published 2:43 am Wednesday, September 28, 2011

Ironton Fighting Tigers’ senior Josh Zornes was the overall low individual on a non-qualifying team at the Division II sectional golf tournament Tuesday at Shawnee State Park Golf Course. Zornes advances to the district tournament on Wednesday, Oct. 5, in Circleville. (The Ironton Tribune / Tony Shotsky of Southern Ohio Sports


Tribune Sports Editor

FRIENDSHIP — The Chesapeake Panthers are advancing as a team. Ironton’s Josh Zornes is just advancing.

Email newsletter signup

The Panthers finished second in the Division II sectional golf tournament on Tuesday at Shawnee State Park Golf Course while Zornes qualified for the district tournament as an individual.

The top five teams advance to the district on Wednesday, Oct. 5, in Circleville along with the top five individuals not on a qualifying team.

Gallipolis — now 75-0 on the season — won the tournament with a 308-team score. Chesapeake was next with a 351 followed by Jackson at 357, Hillsboro 358 and Piketon 380.

Rounding out the team scoring was Wellston 386, Portsmouth 389, Portsmouth West 402, Ironton and Fairland 409, Rock Hill 416, Northwest 421, Minford 463, South Point 470, and River Valley and Eastern Brown 477.

While Ironton failed to qualify as a team, Zornes was first among the individual qualifiers with an 81 over the par 72 course. Zornes had a 42 on the front nine but came back with a 39 on the second set of nine holes.

Nick Duffield led the Panthers with an 82 while Seth Waggoner shot an 83. Drew Oxley had a 92 and Eric Sias a 94 to complete the four-man scoring.

Ironton’s Jaylen Thornhill and Travis Taylor each finished at 108 and Rhett Ball 112.

Drew Kidd shot a 91 for Rock Hill and missed qualifying individually by one stroke.

Hunter Schenewark had a 94 and Bailey Manns 96 to lead Fairland. Austin Wellman shot a 110 to pace South Point.

Southeastern Ohio

Division II

Sectional Golf Tournament

Team Scores

Team Score

Gallipolis* 308

Chesapeake* 351

Jackson* 357

Hillsboro* 358

Piketon* 380

Wellston 386

Portsmouth 389

Portsmouth West 402

Ironton 409

Fairland 409

Rock Hill 416

Northwest 421

Minford 463

South Point 470

River Valley 477

Eastern Brown 477

*-Qualified for District Tournament

Individual Leaders

Player, School Score

Nick Saunders, Gallipolis 71

Rob Canady, Gallipolis 72

Corey Arthur, Gallipolis 79

Bagshae, Hillsboro 79

Josh Zornes, Ironton 81

Nick Duffield, Chesapeake 82

Seth Waggoner, Cheapeake 83

Williams, Jackson 83

Fleming, Hillsboro 86

Cameron Pope, Northwest 87

Individual Qualifiers

Player, School Score

Josh Zornes, Ironton 81

Cameron Pope, Northwest 87

Blake Downard, Wellston 88

Daulton Kenyon, Ports. West 89

Thomas Skaggs, Wellston# 90

Taylor Bailey, Ports. West 90

Brandon Jones, Portsmouth 90

#-Won 2-Hole Playoff