• 54°

Dragons, Lady Dragons win Last Chance meet


Tribune Sports Editor

One final race meant one more win for the Fairland Dragons and Lady Dragons.

In the boys’ race, Fairland had just 15 points to get an easy win over runner-up Wheelersburg with 54 points. Waverly had 89 and Rock Hill 94.

The Lady Dragons had 38 points to finish ahead of Reedsville Eastern with 50 points. Wheelersburg was third with 64, Ironton had 83 and Waverly finished with 105.

“It’s nice to have another cross country course in Lawrence County to run at,” said Fairland coach Chuck Wentz. “We had a great time on Ironton’s course and we ran well tuning up for the OVC.”

The Ohio Valley Conference meet will be Tuesday at Fairland.

Fairland’s boys claimed the top five positions and seven of the first nine spots.

Logan Rowe was the overall winner with a 17:03 time followed by Tanner Mattie with 17:24 for Fairland. Raine Wireman was third at 17:31, Chad McComas fourth at 17:54 and Ryan Stewart was next at 18:01.

Also for Fairland were No. 7 Josh Sifford 18:20, No. 9 Dylan Hannon 18:23, No. 14 Zack Fannin 19:09, No. 15 Grant Clarkson 19:10, No. 25 Dylan Bentley 21:07 and No. 29 Brian O’Keefe 21:46.

Ironton was led by Levi Runyon who was No. 16 at 19:12. Tyler Lawless was one spot back at 19:18 and Joel Utsinger was No. 43 at 28:48.

Aaron Dalton finished No. 10 for Rock Hill with an 18:45 time. Also for the Redmen were No. 13 Austin Smith 19:05, No. 37 Christian Rudmann 24:38, No. 40 Bryce Kelly 25:47 and No. 41 Dustin Akers 26:19.

John Archambault led South Point as he placed No. 12 with an 18:53. Zach Samples was No. 26 at 21:08, Brandon Conley No. 42 at 28:23 and Adam Collins No. 44 at 30:40.

The Lady Dragons had three of the top nine runners to win the girls’ race.

South Point’s Sara Letchford was second overall with a 20:26 time as she finished just behind Macy Dyer of East Carter, Ky., who ran a 20:24.

Shanan Ashton ran a 20:50 to place third and lead all Fairland runners. Megan Ashton was fifth at 21:18.

Also for Fairland were No. 9 Sydney Pettit 22:21, No. 12 Sarah Warnock 22:32, No. 19 Faith Hurula 24:02 and No. 24 Savanah Nelson 24:52.

Ariel Schweickart topped Ironton as she finished No. 11 with a 22:27 clocking.

Maggie Thomas celebrated her 16th birthday by placing second for Ironton at No. 17 with a 23:49 time. Kaylie Sturgill was No. 18 at 24:00, Hannah Cronacher No. 21 at 24:26, Ashton McMackin No. 27 at 25:11, No. 28 Shannon Walker 25:33, No. 29 Brookyn Shope 25:44, No. 30 Colleen Walker 26:01, No. 32 Macy Wise 27:09, No. 38 was Sara Connell at 34:04 and No. 39 Allison Hunt 35:29.

Rock Hill’s Madison Nelson wasNo.37 at 30:38.

The district cross country meets for Division II and III will be held on Saturday, Oct. 22, at the University of Rio Grande.

Ironton and Coal Grove girls are in Division III while Rock Hill, Fairland and South Point are in Division II.

Ironton, Coal Grove and Rock Hill boys are in Division III while Fairland and South Point are in Division II.