• 59°

Chesy voters choose Wolfe, Henson for council; Proctorville voters choose Burcham, Whitley

CHESAPEAKE — A newcomer to Chesapeake politics led the village council ticket in Tuesday’s election. In Proctorville, one incumbent and one newcomer got the nod from voters there.

In unofficial results from Chesapeake, Tracy Henson collected 158 votes, followed by Kenneth Wolfe, a former councilman who had sat out four years before throwing his hat back into the arena.

Wolfe collected 151 votes and snapped up the second of two available council seats. Incumbent Paul Hart came in third with 108 votes.

Henson said he thought voters chose him because they wanted a new face and maybe some new ideas. Henson said while he would like to continue the progress the village has made recently, he would also like to see the village limits expanded to include more people and more space.

“I want to thank the people who voted for me, believed in me,” Henson said.

Wolfe said he wants to work on improving the appearance of Rockwood Avenue and wants to keep a close eye on the budget.

“We’ve not raised taxes here in probably 30 years,” Wolfe said. “We need to try to survive on what we have.”

In Proctorville, incumbent Dale Burcham collected the most votes, 115, followed by newcomer Jerry Whitley, who collected 80 votes. Whitley voted early and was on vacation down south when The Tribune called him on his cell phone.

“I did?” he replied when told he had collected the second available seat on village council. This was his first time running for office. He credits his reputation as a retired businessman for his success at the polls. He operated a florist shop for 31 years. He sold it 12 years ago.

“I think the city is run pretty well,” Whitley said. “I want to continue that and make it a better town. I’d like to see some new businesses and maybe something for senior citizens. I know the economy is bad but we need to do the best we can.”

Burcham was not immediately available for comment.

Gary Whitley came in third with 63 votes, followed by incumbent Jerry Thompson with 49 votes and Margie Whitley with 39 votes.