Child Welfare Club announces Eddy Test Winners

Published 9:47 am Thursday, April 19, 2012


The Ironton Child Welfare Club announced 10 winners of the 2012 Eddy Awards.

The club’s Eddy Test is given to the top 25 percent of sixth grade students from Ironton Middle School and St. Lawrence Catholic School.

Email newsletter signup

This year 30 students qualified to take the test, which was administered on Feb. 7 at Ironton Middle School.

The Child Welfare Club began this program 51 years ago. It is the club’s most enduring project. The Eddy Award was established to identify students who had attained top academic achievement in the sixth grade. Ten students have been named as recipients of an Eddy Award.

The honorees for this year are:

Tanner Bowles, son of Bob and Carmen Bowles; Jazmine Nicole Hammond, daughter of Jerry and Fay Hammond; Mikey Kellogg, son of Melissa Kellogg; Torrence Linthicum,son of Connie Coleman; Cecily O’Neill, daughter of Nick Fraley and Lori O’Neill; Jaxson Pleasant, son of Craig and Angela Pleasant; Anna Preston, daughter of Ronnie Jewell and Kelly Preston; Albert Schoener, son of Greg and Debbie Schoener; Allison White, daughter of Scott and Amy White; Clay Willis, son of John and Jennifer Willis.

This year’s winners will be honored on May 10 with a banquet at Ohio University Southern in the Mains Rotunda at 6 p.m.