Vikings win sxith straight baseball title

Published 3:22 am Thursday, May 9, 2013

Jim Walker


AID — Four in a row led to six in a row.

Mitch Corn threw Symmes Valley’s fourth straight five-inning no-hitter and the Vikings blanked the Green Bobcats 10-0 on Wednesday to capture their sixth straight Southern Ohio Conference baseball title.

“That’s one of our goals, so it’s nice to put that on our list of accomplishments,” said Vikings’ coach Chad Renfroe.

“We played well tonight. We hit the ball. D.J. (Miller) had a heck of a game. He hit the ball hard.”

Symmes Valley is now 16-3 overall and 13-0 in the SOC. The Vikings play at Portsmouth Clay on Thursday in their final league game of the season.

Corn struck out six and walked two in holding the Bobcats hitless.

“Green’s not a bad team. Corn threw the ball pretty well,” said Renfroe.

The Vikings took a 2-0 lead in the first inning. Miller singled, stole second and scored on Alec Herrell’s base hit. Herrell stole second and scored on a pair of ground outs.

The lead went to 3-0 in the second when Dylan McFann reach on an error and Miller doubled.

Symmes Valley got three more runs each in the third and fourth innings.

In the third, Seth Jarrell singled, Tanner Mays was safe on an error, Dylan Pelletier had a two-run single and McFann doubled home a run.

Miller triple and scored on Herrell’s double to start the fourth. Jarrell had an RBI singled, Mays walked and Lane Wilson had a run-scoring single.

The final run score in the fifth when Corn singled, Miller walked and Jarrell had an RBI single.

Miller went 3-3, Jarrell 3-4 and Herrell 2-4 as the Vikings collected 12 hits.

On a side note, the game marked the final contest for umpire Chuck Delawder. A member of the Ironton Chapter, Delawder is retiring after 31 years calling high school baseball game.

Players from both teams shook hands with Delawder before the game. The Vikings signed the game ball with the final score and presented it to Delawder to commemorate the his final game.

Green 000 00 = 0 0 2

Symmes Valley 213 31 = 10 12 1

Caleb Johnson, Rob Applegate (5) and Chris Applegate. Mitch Corn and Alec Herrell. W-Corn (K-6, BB-2). L-Johnson (K-4, BB-2, H-10, R-9, ER-7). C. Applegate BB-2, H-2, R-1. 2B-SV: D.J. Miller, Alec Herrell, Dylan McFann. 3B-SV: D.J. Miller. Hitting-SV: D.J. Miller 3-3, Alec Herrell 2-4, Seth Jarrell 3-4, Dylan Pelletier 1-3, Lane Wilson 1-3, Dylan McFann 1-3, Mitch Corn 1-3.