Bengals sign three to practice squad

Published 12:42 am Monday, September 2, 2013

CINCINNATI (AP) — The Bengals signed receiver Cobi Hamilton, offensive tackle Reid Fragel and center T.J. Johnson to their practice squad on Sunday, keeping three of their draft picks.

Hamilton was a sixth-round pick from Arkansas. Fragel, from Ohio State, and Johnson, from South Carolina, were taken in the seventh round. All three were waived on Saturday as the Bengals got down to the 53-man roster limit.

The Bengals also signed to the practice squad running back Daniel Herron, cornerbacks Chris Lewis-Harris and Onterio McCalebb, and linebacker J.K. Schaffer, all of whom they’d waived a day earlier. Cincinnati has one spot open on the eight-man practice squad.

Email newsletter signup

The Bengals picked Josh Johnson as their backup quarterback Saturday, waiving John Skelton as they got down to the 53-man roster limit.

The two were competing for the spot behind Andy Dalton. Johnson followed Dalton into each of the last two preseason games, an indication he was in front in the competition. He impressed during a 27-10 win over Indianapolis on Thursday night.

Skelton had never run a West Coast offense and was behind in the competition as a result.

Linebacker Emmanuel Lamur dislocated his right shoulder during the game against Indianapolis. The Bengals placed him on injured reserve Saturday, ending his season.

Running back Bernard Scott went on the physically unable to perform list as he recovers from knee surgery last season. He’s eligible to return to practice after the sixth week of the season if he’s cleared medically. Second-round draft pick Giovani Bernard has taken the No. 2 spot at running back behind BenJarvus Green-Ellis.

Offensive tackle Dennis Roland was released on Saturday. The Bengals also waived 17 others: fullback John Conner, tight end Bryce Davis, safety Tony Dye, running back Daniel Herron, cornerback Chris Lewis-Harris, cornerback Onterio McCalebb, defensive end Dontay Moch, cornerback Shaun Prater, receiver Taveon Rogers, receiver Roy Roundtree, linebacker J.K. Schaffer, defensive tackle Terrence Stephens, guard John Sullen and linebacker Bruce Taylor.

The Bengals open the season next Sunday in Chicago.