OHSAA State Football Championships

Published 12:42 am Sunday, December 8, 2013


Clinton-Massie 27, Mooney 21

MASSILLON (AP) — Clarksville Clinton-Massie rallied in the second half Friday to defeat Youngstown Cardinal Mooney, 27-21, and win Ohio’s Division IV title for the second straight year as plows tried to clear the field of steadily falling snow.

Email newsletter signup

Brothers Bayle and Chase Wolf put together a running attack that wiped out Mooney’s 21-14 halftime lead and made the Falcons the third team to repeat as state champions this weekend.

The inclement weather forced both squads to keep the ball mostly on the ground.

Bayle Wolf rushed for 172 yards on 33 carries and scored the game-winner on a 2-yard run with a little over a minute left to play. Chase Wolf had 91 yards on 20 carries.

Mooney’s Mark Handel, an all-Ohio defensive back, gained 140 yards on 16 attempts.


Loveland 41,

Cleveland Glenville 23

CANTON (AP) — Loveland has beaten Cleveland Glenville 41-23 in the Ohio Division II high school football final to win its first state title.

In a driving snowstorm at Canton Fawcett Stadium, Loveland’s defense was cold-blooded Friday as Michael Weber was part of a unit that forced seven turnovers. Weber forced a fumble and had a fumble recovery.

It was the Tigers’ first finals appearance and snapped a 13-game winning streak by the Tarblooders.

Loveland is 15-0 and the No. 2 team in The Associated Press’ poll. It scored 34 points off Glenville miscues to send the 13-2 Tarblooders home without a state title in their second try.

The 27 points the Tigers scored in the second quarter were a Division II state record and put things away early.

Luke Waddell ran for 175 yards and added a touchdown for Loveland.


Kirkland 44, Wayne Trace 16

CANTON (AP) — Adam Hess rushed 177 yards on 22 carries, scored two touchdowns and added a pair of two-point conversions to lead Kirtland to a 44-16 victory over Wayne Trace in Ohio’s Division VI finals at Fawcett Stadium in Canton.

Sam Kukura also did damage Friday for the Hornets (15-0), adding 196 yards and a score as Kirtland earned its second title in three years.

The squad logged the fourth-most total yards of offense in a state championship, finishing with 588 yards.

Wayne Trace (13-2) tied things up in the second quarter on a 41-yard touchdown pass from Colby Speice to Jake Arend. That woke up Kirtland, the top-ranked team in the Associated Press poll, and the Hornets rolled off 36 straight points.

Kirtland has won 44 of its last 45 games.


Coldwater 24, Bishop Hartley 7

MASSILLON (AP) — Quarterback Brody Hoying rushed for 145 yards, scored three touchdowns and came up with a key interception Saturday to lead Coldwater to a 24-7 victory over Columbus Bishop Hartley in the Division V state championship football game.

Hoying, a 5-10, 180-pound junior, scored on runs of nine, three and 32 yards as Coldwater won its fourth state title since 2007 at Paul Brown Tiger Stadium.


Marion Local 33, Trimble 0

MASSILLON (AP) — Adam Bertke threw for a touchdown and ran for two more scores to lead Maria Stein Marion Local to its third consecutive state title with a 33-0 win over Glouster Trimble in the Ohio Division VII championship on Saturday.

The Flyers (15-0) became the seventh school in Ohio High School Athletic Association history to win three or more consecutive titles, joining Cincinnati Moeller, Cleveland St. Ignatius, Delphos St. John’s, Newark Catholic, Versailles and Youngstown Ursuline.

It was the seventh state title for the Associated Press’ top-ranked team. The win over the Tomcats (14-1) extended the Flyers’ winning streak to 22 games.

Bertke finished 17-of-28 passing for 216 yards and added 47 yards rushing.


Moeller 55, Mentor 52

CANTON (AP) — Gus Ragland ran for five touchdowns and threw for three more to lead Cincinnati Moeller to the Ohio Division I state championship with a 55-52 win over Mentor at Canton’s Fawcett Stadium.

The AP’s co-offensive player of the year tied the Div. I state title record for rushing touchdowns Saturday as Moeller (14-1) won its second consecutive title and ninth overall.

He threw for 273 yards and rushed for 189.

It’s the first time a school has won back-to-back championships in Division I since Cincinnati Elder did it in 2002-03 and the third time the Crusaders have done it (1979-80, 1975-77).

Moeller led 48-26 after the third quarter, but Mentor scored two touchdowns in the first 36 seconds of the fourth quarter.

Mentor quarterback Connor Krizancic rushed for a 3-yard touchdown with 4 minutes, 12 seconds left and an extra point cut Moeller’s lead to three.

Ragland scored the eventual game-winning touchdown, which tied the D-I rushing championship touchdown record set by Davidson’s Bo Delande in 2006, with 2:13 left.

Krizancic threw a 3-yard touchdown pass to Eddie Daugherty with 44 seconds left, but the Cardinals’ ensuing onside kick went out of bounds.

The 107 points that Mentor (13-2) and Moeller scored were the most in a D-I final, eclipsing the 71 by Hilliard Davidson and Moeller in 2006.

Krizancic (36-of-55, 419 yards, 2 TDs) also broke the D-I marks for most passing yards and completions and Daugherty (18 catches, 164 yards, 2 TDs) set an all-division mark for receptions in a state final.

The Crusaders and Cardinals set D-I state finals marks for most combined touchdowns (15), most combined passing yards (736) and most combined total yards (1,136).

The Cardinals’ 586 yards total offense, and Moeller’s 55 points and eight touchdowns also set D-I records.


Ohio H.S. Athletic Association

Football State Championships

Thursday, Dec. 5

Div. III: Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary 24, Trotwood-Madison 0; Records: Akron St. V-St. M 15-0, Trotwood-Madison 11-3

Friday, Dec. 6

Div. VI: Kirtland 44, Haviland Wayne Trace 16; Records: Kirkland 15-0, Wayne Trace 13-2

Div. IV: Clarksville Clinton-Massie 27, Youngstown Cardinal Mooney 21; Records: Clinton-Massie 14-1, Youngstown Mooney 10-5

Div. II: Loveland 41, Cleveland Glenville 23; Records: Loveland 15-0, Cleveland Glenville 13-2

Saturday, Dec. 7

Div. V: Coldwater 24, Columbus Bishop Hartley 7; Records: Coldwater 13-2, Bishop Hartley 13-2

Div. I: Cincinnati Archbishop Moeller 55, Mentor 52; Cincinnati Archbishop Moeller 14-1, Mentor 13-2

Div. VII: Maria Stein Marion Local 33, Glouster Trimble 0; Records: Maria Stein Marion Local 15-0, Glouster Trimble 14-1