Ironton to honor 1994 girls state runner-up track team

Published 12:17 am Sunday, January 19, 2014

Jim Walker


It will be a time for celebration and remembering.

On Saturday, Ironton High School will celebrate its new class members into the Athletic Hall of Fame and also remember the 1994 Ironton Lady Fighting Tigers’ Class AA state runner-up track team.

The 1994 team not only won several invitational meets that season but also claimed the district championship as well as the state runner-up trophy.

Members from that stellar 1994 season will be introduced at halftime of the Ironton vs. Athens boys’ basketball game scheduled at an early 5:30 p.m. starting time.

The Hall of Fame members will be introduced after the junior varsity game.

The 1994 team was comprised of Jennifer Rollins, Brennen Cleary, Mollie Gleichauf, Julia Fuchs, Tammy Brice, Trisha Miller, Bridget Dickens, Shawnta Allen, Mandy Speaks, Kelli Palmer, Christina Saxon, Kristen Roach, Anne Toothman, Cassie Hannan, Michelle Brown, Katy Smith, Erica Massey, Bethany Mowery, Jamie Carter, Cathy Rudmann, Heather White, Leah Brown, Traci Fisher and Anissa Campbell who will be inducted into the Ironton Athletic Hall of Fame that same evening.